Announcement: Be excellent to each other.

Caravel Forum : DROD Boards : Bugs : things I have heard from the person(s) I introduced FDROD to IRL
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
Jatopian
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 1842
IP: Logged
icon things I have heard from the person(s) I introduced FDROD to IRL (+4)  
Apparently we're doing this publicly now.

This person has no forum account, so I'm passing on bits of my conversation with them as valuable genuine-first-time-player input. For context, the person in question seems like someone who might actually like DROD - he's a programmer by trade, a fairly hardcore gamer who enjoys dungeon crawls (he's also currently playing Dredmor) and puzzle games.

"A new type of roach with no introduction?"
"It's a roach queen. I think we decided players could figure it out on their own."
"If I hadn't seen you play this before, at this point I'd decide the game is just bad overall at explanations, and play something else."
Don't we have an explanation of roach queens somewhere we can stick in level 2 1E and 3N? Already written and translated?

"This room is way too hard for a new player."
"Which room is it?"
"The secret room with the roach queen in the maze. You don't even mention that roach queens can be manipulated. Or that the game is completely deterministic."
"Huh, we don't? Anyway, secret rooms are meant to be hard, since you can come back to them later."
"Most players don't think like that."
So we should mention more explicitly that secret rooms can be returned to later. I also like Trickster's idea about putting the secret room explanation in whatever the first secret room you encounter happens to be.

"Oh hey, another room you're supposed to solve without knowing game mechanics."
"Huh? Oh... yeah." *embarrassment*
I think we need to just tell people roach queens don't spawn on dropped yellow doors or trapdoors.

"So I just have to restart the whole level to get these achievements?"