Announcement: Why not try our official idea generator for inspiration when making puzzles?

Caravel Forum : DROD Boards : Architecture : The Hunt (Slayer manipulation hold)
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
Mazer
Level: Master Delver
Rank Points: 162
IP: Logged

File: The Hunt.hold (8.6 KB)
Downloaded 85 times.
License: Public Domain
icon The Hunt (0)  
Here's a hold based on slayer manipulation. It currently has 2 complete levels and one incomplete. Probably I'll add or change something. Comments accepted.
04-09-2007 at 04:33 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
bodkin
Level: Goblin
Rank Points: 26
icon Re: The Hunt (0)  
Just to say I've played the first level and some of the second but I'm not ready to give a full opinion. I'm bogged down with water and platforms. (Also, I can't help with hold design like everyone here. I can give you playing opinion but I'm not an expert – TCB etc. but not Beethro's Teacher.)

But I'd say your hold definitely deserves attention. I'm very impressed by your use of slayer moves, especially using the pushing one to break up lines of monsters.

S
/ x
x /
B going west

And some of your combinations, like slayers and swordless Beethro are very imaginative. Also, moving the slayer when you are only two squares away. That's clever.

I've just posted a hold, also on moving slayers! Sorry, but I didn't know about yours until just now. Mine is as easy as can be, a beginner's guide, mostly 4x4 squares. Yours, on the other hand, needs thought.

Can I ask you a stupid, beginner question? Where in the editor is the token that takes away the sword? I can't find it. I'm using oremite instead (not in the version that's up, but in a 0.2).

I do think you should have save points, unless you against them on principle. Especially when there are two themes to a room.

[Last edited by bodkin at 05-08-2007 10:51 PM]
05-08-2007 at 10:50 PM
Sillyman
Level: Smiter
Rank Points: 339