Announcement: Why not try our official idea generator for inspiration when making puzzles?


Caravel Forum : DROD Boards : Architecture : Scripting weirdness
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
Tahnan
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2460
Registered: 11-14-2005
IP: Logged
icon Scripting weirdness (0)  
You know what Architecture needs? More scripting questions.

I've got an invisible NPC with a script that starts:
  Face direction northeast
  Appear at 17,5
What I can't figure out is, why doesn't this execute until turn 1? In particular, if I put in a "wait 0" command before this, the script works in exactly the same way, i.e. the character appears, facing northeast, on turn 1. No extra delay is added by the "wait 0". (As opposed to, say, if the script's first command is just "appear at 17,5": then it executes immediately upon room entrance, and putting in a "wait 0" delays that by a turn.)

06-02-2007 at 02:52 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
calamarain
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 933
Registered: 03-25-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: Scripting weirdness (0)  
Tahnan wrote:
You know what Architecture needs? More scripting questions.

I've got an invisible NPC with a script that starts:
  Face direction northeast
  Appear at 17,5
What I can't figure out is, why doesn't this execute until turn 1? In particular, if I put in a "wait 0" command before this, the script works in exactly the same way, i.e. the character appears, facing northeast, on turn 1. No extra delay is added by the "wait 0". (As opposed to, say, if the script's first command is just "appear at 17,5": then it executes immediately upon room entrance, and putting in a "wait 0" delays that by a turn.)

Do you need the "Face northeast" part? Surely you can just start the NPC facing northeast by placing the character rotated that way, do you really need the script for it?

____________________________
My Holds
Click here to view the secret text

06-02-2007 at 03:48 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
schep
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 865
Registered: 03-01-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: Scripting weirdness (+1)  
This is a known bug, which will be fixed next time there's a patch that actually works.
06-02-2007 at 06:00 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Tahnan
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2460
Registered: 11-14-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: Scripting weirdness (0)  
schep wrote:
This is a known bug, which will be fixed next time there's a patch that actually works.
Aha. I wondered if it might be. Rassafrassin' non-working patches.
06-02-2007 at 07:06 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
vinheim
Level: Smiter
Rank Points: 300
Registered: 05-31-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: Scripting weirdness (-1)  
speaking of scripting weirdness, how do you do that code thing in metdroid prime the hold? i cant find a way to do it and i want to know so i can make my ocarina of time remake from drod
06-08-2007 at 03:22 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Tim
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1979
Registered: 08-07-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Scripting weirdness (+1)  
vinheim wrote:
speaking of scripting weirdness, how do you do that code thing in metdroid prime the hold? i cant find a way to do it and i want to know so i can make my ocarina of time remake from drod
Just read the documentation. The help files is, ironically enough, is the best place to start with (being the ONLY place).

There are also some very good pieces of information on this page http://forum.caravelgames.com/viewsiteboard.php?b=47. I'm sure that when you finish reading all of it you will find making holds very easy.

By the way, we already have some real good people working on something like ocarina in some other thread here (just search for the word ocarina on the forum and you will find it). But you might be able to "borrow" some graphics and scripts from them.

By the way, welcome to the forum. Looking forward to see your version of Ocarina.

-- Tim O:-

PS. What I am saying is, just make the rooms first. The rest can always come later. By the time you've finished all the rooms in Hyrule, you will find it will take you much less time to add code than it is for you now.

____________________________
The best way to lose customers is to let little kids running loose on a forum with too many mod points.
06-08-2007 at 08:38 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
vinheim
Level: Smiter
Rank Points: 300
Registered: 05-31-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: Scripting weirdness (0)  
thank you tim, i already have a deku tree now just need to work on the rest...
06-09-2007 at 04:38 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
vinheim
Level: Smiter
Rank Points: 300
Registered: 05-31-2007
IP: Logged

File: Vinheim.hold (2.2 KB)
Downloaded 51 times.
License: Public Domain
icon Re: Scripting weirdness (+1)  
checked out some other ocarina of time topics, i think a good way to do heart pieces is give them a code like in metdroid prime, when you have four you put them in your house (the codes) which gives you a code for entry to a secret room, these secret rooms are connected to any boss room where you can end the script of an npc in that room, when you're fighting the boss it checks if the npcs are in their position and weaken depending on the number of npcs not there, this is to give the effect of you being stronger instead of the boss getting weaker, there is no staircase for the first boss as normally you wouldnt be able to get 4 heart pieces by the time you fight him

for the first boss the gohma eggs are represented by the roach queen in the tail of the gohma queen structure, its three lives are represented by three evil eyes appearing one after the other only able to be killed once it leaves the body, when i figure out how to do the metdroid prime code thing, i will give the slingshot a code which can be used in the boss room instead of all the npcs but only when the eye is red (active) there is also a brain which represents its heart which, when you destroy, will represent its death, and when you destroy it along with the egg creator (tail or roach queen) will open the green door revealing a staircase to the boss room without the boss or with its corpse there as a picture to represent the dead boss

lastly, i desperately need to know how to script the metdroid codes i dont want to use the examples of having to collect items using orbs and yellow doors or ending scripts so if you know how to do the codes (ive played your space hold jason, i know you know how to do the scripting, hehehe) please help

edit: ive attached a file to demonstrate the first boss without slingshot scripting, please view it and npc scripts in level editor first, for jtrh or tcb

[Last edited by vinheim at 06-09-2007 02:09 PM]
06-09-2007 at 01:57 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Monkey
Level: Master Delver
Avatar
Rank Points: 190
Registered: 03-21-2006
IP: Logged
icon Re: Scripting weirdness (0)  
Methinks that last post deserves its own topic. BTW, that hold crashes my game of TCB. I have 3.0.2rev2, if that makes a difference.

____________________________
lurking

[Last edited by Monkey at 06-10-2007 03:49 AM]
06-10-2007 at 03:49 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
vinheim
Level: Smiter
Rank Points: 300
Registered: 05-31-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: Scripting weirdness (0)  
i made it in 2.0.16 does holds made in that work with 3.0.2rev2?
06-10-2007 at 06:15 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Jatopian
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 1842
Registered: 07-31-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: Scripting weirdness (0)  
vinheim wrote:
i made it in 2.0.16 does holds made in that work with 3.0.2rev2?
If I were you I'd try for compatibility with 3.0.0; the current patch has serious problems with it.

____________________________
DROD has some really great music.
Make your pressure plates 3.0 style!
DROD architecture idea generator
06-10-2007 at 07:53 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
eytanz
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2708
Registered: 02-05-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: Scripting weirdness (0)  
Jatopian wrote:
vinheim wrote:
i made it in 2.0.16 does holds made in that work with 3.0.2rev2?
If I were you I'd try for compatibility with 3.0.0; the current patch has serious problems with it.

It's a bit more complicated than that - 3.0.2rev2 has serious problems, but any deliberate changes to scripting behavior made in it will be in future patches as well. So, you should try to avoid using any scripting that 3.0.2rev2 will change (look at the change log), it's best to change that.

Other than that, though, I wouldn't worry about crashes in 3.0.2rev2.

____________________________
I got my avatar back! Yay!
06-10-2007 at 03:26 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Tahnan
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2460
Registered: 11-14-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: Scripting weirdness (+1)  
I'm going to re-hijack-and-necro my own thread, rather than post a new one, 'cause what I've got is such a simple question and I'm sure I'm just missing something in the help files...

Is there a scripting command to make a sworded NPC swordless? To have, say, a guard or a decoy wandering around without a sword, without putting in oremites? ("Imperative: Sword on/off"?) I feel like there must be, and I'm just not seeing it.
12-10-2007 at 10:40 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
hartleyhair
Level: Smiter
Rank Points: 307
Registered: 08-05-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: Scripting weirdness (0)  
Tahnan wrote:
I'm going to re-hijack-and-necro my own thread, rather than post a new one, 'cause what I've got is such a simple question and I'm sure I'm just missing something in the help files...

Is there a scripting command to make a sworded NPC swordless? To have, say, a guard or a decoy wandering around without a sword, without putting in oremites? ("Imperative: Sword on/off"?) I feel like there must be, and I'm just not seeing it.

Annoyingly, no.

____________________________
I'm currently working on Jerrik's Dungeon, an oldschool Hold for TCB.
12-10-2007 at 04:32 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Someone Else
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2362
Registered: 06-14-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: Scripting weirdness (0)  
I agree that there should be, if that's what you're suggesting
12-10-2007 at 07:05 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Sillyman
Level: Smiter
Avatar
Rank Points: 339
Registered: 09-08-2006
IP: Logged
icon Re: Scripting weirdness (0)  
I thought there was one...
Well, would you look at that. Nothing. Yeah, this is needed.

____________________________
Who, me?
FNORD
12-10-2007 at 08:04 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Caravel Forum : DROD Boards : Architecture : Scripting weirdness
Surf To:


Forum Rules:
Can I post a new topic? No
Can I reply? No
Can I read? Yes
HTML Enabled? No
UBBC Enabled? Yes
Words Filter Enable? No

Contact Us | CaravelGames.com

Powered by: tForum tForumHacks Edition b0.98.9
Originally created by Toan Huynh (Copyright © 2000)
Enhanced by the tForumHacks team and the Caravel team.