Announcement: Be excellent to each other.

Caravel Forum : Caravel Boards : General : Poll: How much overlap do you want between game elements? (How much overlap do you want between game elements? See post for explanation of options.)
Page 1 of 2
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
How much overlap do you want between game elements? See post for explanation of options.
I am a graduate of the Rube Goldberg school of dungeon design.
A little variety goes a long way.
But a lot of variety goes even further.
A tool for every single possible occasion.
I'm just here for the eye candy.
Note: Viewing results forfeits your right to vote.
Poster Message
DGM
Level: Master Delver
Rank Points: 202
IP: Logged
icon Poll: How much overlap do you want between game elements? (0)  
This is a follow-up to this poll, and it likely won't be the last. I'll have to explain the choices below, as I wasn't allowed enough space in the Option fields:

----------------------------------------------------------------
1) I am a graduate of the Rube Goldberg school of dungeon design.

We didn't need briars to create lethal timers when we already had bombs and fuses. We didn't need pressure plates or a new orb. And don't even get me started on mud, much less gel - we should have stopped with tar.

Each new element should do something fundamentally new. If I need a variation on the old, I'll jury-rig it myself.

2) A little variety goes a long way.

A few different ways of accomplishing the same goal is fine, as long as each does it in a very different way. Briars and bombs can each serve a purpose. Three kinds of pressure plates and a new orb is overkill, but just one kind of pressure plate would have been perfect.

3) But a lot of variety goes even further.