Announcement: Be excellent to each other.

Caravel Forum : Caravel Boards : General : High score seekers on unpleasant unrequired rooms. (Should unpleasant unrequired rooms be:)
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Should unpleasant unrequired rooms be:
scoreable
or not?
Note: Viewing results forfeits your right to vote.
Poster Message
Jatopian
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 1842
IP: Logged
icon High score seekers on unpleasant unrequired rooms. (+1)  
This question is addressed only to the sort of person who feels that he must complete nearly every possible high scoreable room that exists, and will play even the worst room in existence for a juicy #1. If that doesn't describe you, you should choose the poll response "View Results".

Let's assume that I am an architect, and I want to put in a room that I know is a terrible room, and make it unrequired. Maybe it's an early or alternate version available post-mastery. Anyway, we know that a normal person will skip it, because they're playing to have fun. A score seeker, however, may play the room for completionism's sake. My fear would be that such a person would judge the hold on a basis including that room, despite my intent that it was not to be played at all, and rate the hold lower. Should I, as an architect, be afraid of this, and make the room non-scoreable, thus removing the incentive for score-seekers to play the bad room? Or is this an unfounded fear, and I should let the score-seekers play it?

12-04-2007 at 11:34 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
zex20913
Rank Points: 1721
icon Re: High score seekers on unpleasant unrequired rooms. (+1)  
Make it scorable. As there's no way to see if a room is scorable or not in the heat of the moment, those who do play it will be QUITE angry that they don't get a score at the end of an unpleasant room.