Announcement: Be excellent to each other.

Caravel Forum : Caravel Boards : Development : HexaDROD (version 0.4)
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
Bombadil
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 509
IP: Logged
icon HexaDROD (+10)  
GET THE LATEST VERSION (0.4) OF HexaDROD HERE
Just unzip and run "hexa.exe"!

Changes in this version:
- Added sounds from DROD:AE.

Previous versions:
Click here to view the secret text

* A BIT OF HISTORY *

I have been developing this hexagonal version of DROD for a couple of years on and off. I took my inspiration from a personal like of hexagons, symmetry, and this thread (even though current monster behaviour does not coincide with brian_s' post's mechanics).

I submitted some screenshots of an early proto-prototype in C++ in this contest (the idea was to submit the game as an entry, but it was too buggy). A while later I abandoned it, and last year I ported it to python (the aim was to learn a bit of it) with a less buggy code structre and added a few more things.

I believe the game is now somewhat playable, so here it is for all of you to "enjoy". You can find a windows version at the top of this post. Just unzip it and run "hexa.exe"!

* THE GAME *

For the moment I have implemented roaches, queen roaches, evil eyes, orbs and doors, trapdoors, red doors, green doors, crumbly walls and force arrows.

I will probably explain the movement I implemented for the monsters in a future post.

To move Hexa-Beethro you can use the keys (I was coding this in my laptop, so I didn't have a numpad):
I   - N
O   - NE
L   - SE
K   - S
J   - SW
U   - NW
Q   - rotate CCW
W   - rotate CW
E   - wait
R   - restart
Z   - undo (unlimited undo! :D)
ESC - exit game

* THE EDITOR *

There is a button on the left-hand side that toggles the editor ON/OFF.

The level is stored in the file "data/LVsaved.txt". So if you create a cool level you want to share with someone, you just need to send them this file.