Announcement: Why not try our official idea generator for inspiration when making puzzles?

Caravel Forum : DROD Boards : Architecture : Aesthetics
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
bomber50
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 872
IP: Logged
icon Aesthetics (+1)  
I don't think the aesthetics of a dungeon has been discussed too often on the Architecture boards. How do you make a hold look nice?

I'm currently in the process of making a hold and it all looks just a little bit on the ugly side.
10-19-2012 at 06:28 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Red-XIII
Rank Points: 647
icon Re: Aesthetics (+1)  
Well if you want in the Help section of the AE, Erik Hermansen wrote some simply suggestions so you could start reading all that section.
About personal hints I'm not sure if I can help a lot since I'm not a good artist but I think that if the hold has total different puzzles it's a little hard build up the aesthetics; for exemple if two puzzles requires half of the room ( let's say 1N and 2N) you can fill the empty part in 1N with water/walls/pits and continuing with them not only in the nearest room like 2N but also in 1N1E, 1E and so on; you can use rooms with no puzzles and even not accessible.
If your hold has an interesting story you might want to put some decorations, like bones or graves if you are in a cave, or grass in a forest. If you want to build a level with a huge artwork (like goblin forest in gigantic jewel lost) I suggest to search in the web for some schematizations since that would be a very hard work.
I know I said some obviousness but I started with this little basics to make my holds less uglier.
Hope I helped a bit.
P.S. even if you can't build a super-architectural hold I think that many players (like me) prefer the quality of the puzzles, but of course also aesthetics has his matter, you just have to find your balance.

10-19-2012 at 10:18 AM