Announcement: Be excellent to each other.


Caravel Forum : Caravel Boards : Development : TCB Clock
Page 1 of 2
2
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
silver
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 913
Registered: 01-18-2005
IP: Logged

File: silver DROD clock.zip (750.6 KB)
Downloaded 488 times.
License: Creative Commons
AttributionNoncommercialShare Alike 3.0
icon TCB Clock (+8)  
Hare you go, have a combo serpent/digital/countdown/count-up/egg-hatch-warning/with-faux-analog-display clock which contains half-ticks for when you're on speed (the potion, not amphetamines).

this time I created it wholly from scratch instead of borrowing some other image. note it also works in 2.0 because the Clock1.png is simply ignored.

And it "only" took me 12 solid hours (spread over 2 days). So any feedback is welcome as long as you realize change requests might take me a LONG time to do.

Enjoy.



____________________________
:yinyang

[Last edited by silver at 04-10-2007 10:05 AM]
04-10-2007 at 09:38 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
skell
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2458
Registered: 12-28-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (+1)  
Waterskippers countdown would be nice too :).

____________________________
My website | Facebook | Twitter

[Last edited by skell at 01-29-2012 08:29 PM : Going to the keep]
04-10-2007 at 11:16 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
silver
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 913
Registered: 01-18-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (0)  
dang. knew I was forgetting something.


____________________________
:yinyang
04-10-2007 at 11:26 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
zex20913
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1718
Registered: 02-04-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (+1)  
Yay DROD mods.

And, to get it to work, put Clock1 and Clock2 into your bitmaps folder, go into your drod configuration, and where it says Clock=Clock, type

Clock1=Clock1
Clock2=Clock2.

____________________________
Click here to view the secret text

04-10-2007 at 04:44 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores Quote Reply
silver
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 913
Registered: 01-18-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (0)  
weird. I didn't make any drod.ini changes. Let me check if those lines were in my default drod.ini...

...all I found was "Clock=Clock" in mine (which I didn't put there)

But that gives me the idea that I could have named my files ComboClockBysilver so that it wouldn't conflict with other people's clock contributions.


____________________________
:yinyang

[Last edited by silver at 04-10-2007 05:56 PM]
04-10-2007 at 05:55 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
skell
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2458
Registered: 12-28-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (0)  
Yeah, I was just ging to writte it b silver was faste:
No need to change anything in ini.

And I think it's better to leave the naming as-is.

____________________________
My website | Facebook | Twitter

[Last edited by skell at 01-29-2012 08:24 PM : Going to the keep]
04-10-2007 at 05:57 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Briareos
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 3515
Registered: 08-07-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (+1)  
I've got this in my DROD.ini:
Clock=SnakeClock;Clock

along with a SnakeClock1.png and a SnakeClock2.png in the "bitmaps" folder - this allows me to switch clocks by clicking on the clock...

Nifty, eh? :D

np: Alias - Beginagain (Muted)

____________________________
"I'm not anti-anything, I'm anti-everything, it fits better." - Sole
R.I.P. Robert Feldhoff (1962-2009) :(
04-10-2007 at 06:23 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts Quote Reply
silver
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 913
Registered: 01-18-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (0)  
ooooh, impressive. my next version will include directions and the files under a different name, then :)


____________________________
:yinyang
04-10-2007 at 06:27 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Briareos
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 3515
Registered: 08-07-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (0)  
quote:
silver wrote:
ooooh, impressive. my next version will include directions and the files under a different name, then :)

To be totally honest, I just read the fine manual... :lol

np: Thom Yorke - Harrowdown Hill (The Eraser)

____________________________
"I'm not anti-anything, I'm anti-everything, it fits better." - Sole
R.I.P. Robert Feldhoff (1962-2009) :(
04-10-2007 at 08:32 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts Quote Reply
silver
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 913
Registered: 01-18-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (0)  
actually, I was thinking about the waterskipper clock.
the thing is, because I include a countDOWN, the ones digit of the countdown IS a waterskipper clock. I could put "w-s [9876543210]" somewhere, but it would be redundant.
the smartaleck version of the waterskipper clock would just be a static text and arrow pointing at the ones digit :)


____________________________
:yinyang
04-10-2007 at 08:41 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Sillyman
Level: Smiter
Avatar
Rank Points: 337
Registered: 09-08-2006
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (0)  
Um, you might want to give the in-game console line with your clock as well... ;)

____________________________
Who, me?
FNORD
04-10-2007 at 10:26 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
silver
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 913
Registered: 01-18-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (0)  
no idea how to do that

____________________________
:yinyang
04-10-2007 at 10:28 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Sillyman
Level: Smiter
Avatar
Rank Points: 337
Registered: 09-08-2006
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (0)  
Well, have you ever tried typing ~help in the ingame chatbox? That should tell you all you need to know.

____________________________
Who, me?
FNORD
04-10-2007 at 10:35 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Kevin_P86
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 534
Registered: 06-28-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (+2)  
quote:
Sillyman wrote:
Well, have you ever tried typing ~help in the ingame chatbox? That should tell you all you need to know.
Or, since you're the one who thinks this information should be included, perhaps you could not ask silver to go out of his way to find this information, and instead provide it for him.

____________________________
+++++[>+++++<-]>[>+++>++++>+++++<<<-]>.>+.>-------.<++++.+++++.
04-11-2007 at 02:20 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Sillyman
Level: Smiter
Avatar
Rank Points: 337
Registered: 09-08-2006
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (+2)  
Okay. I think it's ~Graphics:Clock=(Whatever name silver decides on for the clock);Clock;(Whatever other clocks you might have). Just type that into chat and the clock should be configured.

____________________________
Who, me?
FNORD
04-11-2007 at 02:30 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
NiroZ
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1272
Registered: 02-12-2006
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (0)  
Nice clock!

My only issue with it is that it's a bit grainy around the edges, which really stands out compared to the original TCB clock.

____________________________
A still more glorious dawn awaits
Not a sunrise, but a galaxy rise
A morning filled with 400 billion suns
The rising of the milky way - Carl Sagan.


[Last edited by NiroZ at 04-11-2007 08:17 AM]
04-11-2007 at 05:05 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
hikagi
Level: Goblin
Rank Points: 29
Registered: 02-19-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (0)  
I'm totally lost...Can someone post (or PM me) a detailed set of directions on how to a)get the images into the DROD file, and B)How to change the clock, using the first posts' file as an example? It would be greatly appreciated, since I'm in desperate need of a snake clock ;)

____________________________
I wish I were your derrivitive so I could lay tangent to your curves <3
04-25-2007 at 01:08 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
NiroZ
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1272
Registered: 02-12-2006
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (+3)  
Step 1
Download the file

Step 2
extract files Clock1 and Clock2, rename them Silver-Clock1 and Silver-Clock2.

Step 3
(Assuming you are using Windows XP) Go to your DROD folder (by default it's in Program Files), Head into the data directory, then the bitmaps directory, and place your Silver-Clock1 and Silver-Clock2 there.

Step 4
Head back to the 'data' folder of DROD, and open 'DROD.ini' in notepad. Find the line 'Clock=Clock' Change this to 'Clock=Silver-Clock;Clock' (without the single quotes of course)

Step 5
Play DROD! :D
If you want to change the clock ingame, simply click on the clock and it will change. Clicking on the clock again with change it, yet again!

Advanced
If you want to add more clocks, simply repeat the steps, only naming it (something different)-clock, and when adding it to the .ini, insert it and separate it from the other entries by a ;

____________________________
A still more glorious dawn awaits
Not a sunrise, but a galaxy rise
A morning filled with 400 billion suns
The rising of the milky way - Carl Sagan.

04-25-2007 at 02:03 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
hikagi
Level: Goblin
Rank Points: 29
Registered: 02-19-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (0)  
Perfect, Thank You :thumbsup

____________________________
I wish I were your derrivitive so I could lay tangent to your curves <3
04-25-2007 at 03:05 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Tahnan
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2436
Registered: 11-14-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (0)  
Can I just skip straight to step 5? ;-)
04-25-2007 at 06:11 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
bflatjeff
Level: Delver
Avatar
Rank Points: 93
Registered: 04-04-2006
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (0)  
So I finally remembered that I had been wanting to change things so that I can switch back and forth between silver's clock and the stock clock. Been wanting to do this for a while, but always forgot (too busy playing and enjoying...). Tried it tonight. And failed.

I've tried every combination of names, drod.ini entries, and everything I can think of. Nothing works. The only way I can use silver's clock at all is if I leave the files named "Clock1.png" and "Clock2.png", as originally named. Naming them "Silver1.png" and "Silver2.png" and writing "Clock=Silver" gives me the standard clock. And nothing using ";"s allows me to switch.

I'm confused. The only thing I can think of is to blame Windows Vista's file handling. Permissions for such rudimentary things as moving or renaming files. Blarg.

So, back to using silver's excellent clock alone.

BbJ

____________________________
"Stupid, stupid roach creatures!"
- Beethro Bonekin
09-06-2007 at 04:54 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Kevin_P86
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 534
Registered: 06-28-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (+1)  
The idea is to be able to put something like
Clock=ClockOne;ClockTwo;ClockThree; ...
under the "[Graphics]" section to allow to click on the clock in-game to switch it. You probably already knew this, but it is necessary to put <clockname>1.png (half turns) and <clockname>2.png (whole turns) in the \Bitmaps\ folder of the DROD directory for each clock. (It turns out it is not necessary to provide both images, but at least one is needed for each clock...).

If it's not working, then perhaps the Bugs board is a good place to mention it...

____________________________
+++++[>+++++<-]>[>+++>++++>+++++<<<-]>.>+.>-------.<++++.+++++.
09-06-2007 at 05:16 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
bflatjeff
Level: Delver
Avatar
Rank Points: 93
Registered: 04-04-2006
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (+1)  
Only a month later, I have two clocks!

The following applies to Windows Vista:
Based on things I read from this post and its replies, I edited both drod.ini files in my Data directory: the normal one that appears, and the one I get to by clicking the Compatibility Files button. Not sure which one did the trick (or possibly that they have to be identical? Who knows?), and I don't really care. I have both clocks! :thumbsup

Hooray, hallelujah, and hell yeah!

BbJ

____________________________
"Stupid, stupid roach creatures!"
- Beethro Bonekin
10-01-2007 at 10:18 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Zarvok
Level: Roachling
Rank Points: 13
Registered: 09-29-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (0)  
Does anyone know how I might go about installing this clock on linux? I believe I have the newest version of tcb for linux. In the Data directory I see no ini file or any equivalent dotfiles, so I'm unsure of what I need to do.

Sorry if there is some topic explaining this - I couldn't find it by searching.

Thanks!
10-22-2007 at 03:51 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
coppro
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 1306
Registered: 11-24-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (+1)  
You want to go to ~/.caravel/drod-3_0(-demo). That is the user-specific Linux equivalent of the Windows global Data directory.
10-22-2007 at 04:07 AM
View Profile Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Zarvok
Level: Roachling
Rank Points: 13
Registered: 09-29-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (0)  
Thanks!
10-22-2007 at 04:26 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
GigaClon
Level: Goblin
Rank Points: 21
Registered: 02-08-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (0)  
The snake part of the clocks are inaccurate. Its off by one. I would rather see what the snake just did not what its going to do next turn.
10-14-2009 at 12:50 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Rabscuttle
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1922
Registered: 09-10-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (+1)  
But surely you can see what the snake just did by looking at the snake?
10-14-2009 at 01:26 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Tahnan
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2436
Registered: 11-14-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (0)  
quote:
GigaClon wrote:
The snake part of the clocks are inaccurate. Its off by one. I would rather see what the snake just did not what its going to do next turn.
I'm actually somewhat sympathetic to this; it took me a little time, when I started using a snake clock, to understand that "H5" didn't mean "this was its fifth turn moving horizontally". I think you get used to it--or, of course, you can always make your own custom clock with the numbers moved up by one. (I'd do it for you if I had the free time, which alas I don't, but you're welcome to modify the clock I made.)
12-02-2009 at 08:52 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
navithmastero
Level: Smiter
Avatar
Rank Points: 320
Registered: 01-03-2012
IP: Logged
icon Re: TCB Clock (0)  
Hello!!
Sorry for bringing this up, I didn't know where to put it...
I have searched through Program Files and i can only find the drod.ini in the KDD and JtRH, but not in TCB or GatB, anyone know why? :look

____________________________
Member of the Snake Appreciation Society

My stuff:
Click here to view the secret text

08-11-2012 at 09:36 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Page 1 of 2
2
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Caravel Forum : Caravel Boards : Development : TCB Clock
Surf To:


Forum Rules:
Can I post a new topic? No
Can I reply? No
Can I read? Yes
HTML Enabled? No
UBBC Enabled? Yes
Words Filter Enable? No

Contact Us | CaravelGames.com

Powered by: tForum tForumHacks Edition b0.98.8
Originally created by Toan Huynh (Copyright © 2000)
Enhanced by the tForumHacks team and the Caravel team.