Announcement: Be excellent to each other.


Caravel Forum : Other Boards : Wonderquest : Bug Tracking. (If you're having problems running Wonderquest, post here..)
Page 1 of 8
2345>>
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
googa
Level: Moderator
Avatar
Rank Points: 280
Registered: 09-20-2004
IP: Logged
icon Bug Tracking. (0)  
This is the place for technical discussion..


Bugs Already fixed:

1) -Priest Scroll L4 4E 1S outside the forest.

2) -Option for customizing keys.

3) -Stupid Jokes Removed :-)

4) -Priest Bug. (When you try to move diagonally)

5) -Roach kill player when he is over the pink door. (time door).

6) - Game crash when a ball pushes the player out of the screen.


[Last edited by googa at 01-22-2006 08:53 PM]
11-30-2005 at 05:38 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Someone Else
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1079
Registered: 06-14-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
When I try to de-RAR it, it sends me an Error saying:
Unexpected end of archive.
I can't do anything with what I get.
11-30-2005 at 10:44 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Doom
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 3013
Registered: 07-05-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
Try redownloading. Perhaps the file got corrupted for some reason.
12-01-2005 at 04:54 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Someone Else
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1079
Registered: 06-14-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
I have tried it twice. Neither time worked.
12-01-2005 at 03:13 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
googa
Level: Moderator
Avatar
Rank Points: 280
Registered: 09-20-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (+1)  
Try reinstalling Winrar, I downloaded the game and got no problems to run.
12-03-2005 at 09:49 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts Quote Reply
John259
Level: Delver
Rank Points: 57
Registered: 11-18-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
I just tried to download Wonderquest using Firefox 1.5 twice and then IE6 twice. On all four occasions it cut out at 3224KB.

Is there any way to access the file via FTP or a URL? I'd really love to try the game, it sounds great.

John

____________________________
2006 A DROD Odyssey: "Open the pod bay doors Halph" - "Not possible!"
12-04-2005 at 12:32 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
googa
Level: Moderator
Avatar
Rank Points: 280
Registered: 09-20-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
There is no ftp access yet. You guys PM me your emails then I'll send you a copy of the game. (Need around 7MB of capacity).
12-04-2005 at 04:33 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Schik
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 5093
Registered: 02-04-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (+1)  
For now, can't you just attach it to a post?

____________________________
The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way it treats its animals.
--Mahatma Gandhi
12-04-2005 at 04:50 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores Quote Reply
John259
Level: Delver
Rank Points: 57
Registered: 11-18-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
quote:
googa wrote:
There is no ftp access yet. You guys PM me your emails then I'll send you a copy of the game. (Need around 7MB of capacity).


Many thanks for that good offer but sadly my ISP inbox can only hold 2MB :(

John

____________________________
2006 A DROD Odyssey: "Open the pod bay doors Halph" - "Not possible!"
12-04-2005 at 05:01 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Alneyan
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 622
Registered: 07-06-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (+2)  
If you want, I can to post it on my website: so long as you don't get thousands of downloads a month, it will be fine.

Feel free to mail me the file at alneyan[AT]wispery[DOT]info (replacing [AT] and [DOT] by @ and . respectively).

[Last edited by Alneyan at 12-04-2005 05:05 PM]
12-04-2005 at 05:04 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
googa
Level: Moderator
Avatar
Rank Points: 280
Registered: 09-20-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (+2)  
quote:
Schik wrote:
For now, can't you just attach it to a post?


It's done man, to download it go to:

http://forum.caravelgames.com/viewtopic.php?TopicID=8255

12-04-2005 at 05:49 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts Quote Reply
John259
Level: Delver
Rank Points: 57
Registered: 11-18-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
Thanks so much for doing that Gents. It is now downloaded, installed and running ok. Tomorrrow, I explore!!! - John

____________________________
2006 A DROD Odyssey: "Open the pod bay doors Halph" - "Not possible!"
12-04-2005 at 09:36 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
NoahT
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1009
Registered: 06-17-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
Whenever I tried to run WonderQuest, SubTerra would open up, because for some reason my computer considers all .rar files SubTerra files. Anyone know why this might be happening?

-Noah

____________________________
And in the end, the love you take is equal to the love you make.

My stuff:
Click here to view the secret text

12-05-2005 at 07:09 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Oneiromancer
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2928
Registered: 03-29-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (+2)  
Because somehow you screwed up when setting what program would open .rar files. If you open up a folder and go to Tools then Folder Options then File Types you can assign .rar files to your program that can open them. I use ZipGenius, but there are others. You might be able to reassign the file type within your un-rar-ing program as well.

Game on,

____________________________
"He who is certain he knows the ending of things when he is only beginning them is either extremely wise or extremely foolish; no matter which is true, he is certainly an unhappy man, for he has put a knife in the heart of wonder." -- Tad Williams
12-05-2005 at 07:48 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
googa
Level: Moderator
Avatar
Rank Points: 280
Registered: 09-20-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
I know everybody here prefer a zip file. But a .rar file is much smaller.

[Last edited by googa at 12-05-2005 04:05 PM]
12-05-2005 at 04:03 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Insane
Level: Master Delver
Avatar
Rank Points: 155
Registered: 08-06-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
Yes, It works fine for me (WinRAR)
Great game btw,

-Insane
12-06-2005 at 10:41 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Someone Else
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1079
Registered: 06-14-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
The one in the post works.
Love it!

[Last edited by Someone Else at 12-24-2005 04:12 AM]
12-10-2005 at 01:28 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Bombadil
Level: Smiter
Avatar
Rank Points: 493
Registered: 06-01-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
It's not a bug but I thought I should mention it...

On room L4-4E1S You can read the scroll before the priest joins you, so it's a bit weird...
12-12-2005 at 08:48 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Stuwy
Level: Master Delver
Avatar
Rank Points: 212
Registered: 04-10-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
I like the game so far with the screens, but unfortunatley, this game isn't laptop friendly. Could you make a better keyboard setup (that can define any keys to do what)

Or is there already a laptop keyset somewhere?



____________________________
"Looks like that guy came in third place in an axe fight."
12-14-2005 at 09:12 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Doom
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 3013
Registered: 07-05-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
If you restore into a checkpoint, the room state is resetted. I've seen this happen is two places (L3:1E4S, L4:2E).

Also, if you hurry through the first part of the room with multiple timers and activate another one before the first runs off, you can mess up the toggling and beat the rest of the room with no hurry at all.
12-15-2005 at 06:38 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Someone Else
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1079
Registered: 06-14-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
If you are on a closed pink door (timer door) and there is a roach beside you on it the roach can kill you. This probably isn't supposed to happen, as you can't move away from the roach, except off the timer door. Also, Oneiromancer is right. English lesson: On the scroll at the end of the timer levels it says 'Thanx' where it should say 'Thanks' and 'If you reached here it because' where it should say 'If you reached here it is because'.

[Last edited by Someone Else at 12-24-2005 04:15 AM]
12-24-2005 at 04:04 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
googa
Level: Moderator
Avatar
Rank Points: 280
Registered: 09-20-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
quote:
Doom wrote:
If you restore into a checkpoint, the room state is resetted. I've seen this happen is two places (L3:1E4S, L4:2E).

For now, you can only restore the game from the room entry point (in the restore screen). You can't restore from a checkpoint.


[Last edited by googa at 12-25-2005 06:16 PM]
12-25-2005 at 06:14 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts Quote Reply
J.L.
Level: Delver
Rank Points: 38
Registered: 06-17-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (+1)  
I found an easily reproducable bug. I assume that "space" is supposed to be your undo key. If you press it x number of times at a point where you are unable to undo a move (such as immediately on entering a room, or immediately after undoing a move), you must make x+1 normal moves before you can undo any more moves.

Detailed reproduction:

Action: Run the game and click Fight!
Result: The game begins, at the entry point of the last room you were in.

Action: Move north (assuming your beginning position allows this)
Result: Your character moves one space north. Time advances 1 hour.

Action: Press undo.
Result: Your character moves one space south. Time rewinds 1 hour.

Action: Press undo.
Result: Nothing immediate.

Action: Move north.
Result: Your character moves one space north. Time advances 1 hour.

Action: Press undo.
Result: Nothing immediate.
Expected: Your character SHOULD move one space south and time SHOULD rewind two hours.

Action: Move north twice.
Result: Your character moves two spaces north. Time advances 2 hours.

Action: Press undo.
Result: Your character moves one space south. Time rewinds 1 hour.
01-21-2006 at 06:44 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
J.L.
Level: Delver
Rank Points: 38
Registered: 06-17-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
A couple of things I'll add as I come across them:
I would set the "keyboard delay" higher by default. At 0, holding keys makes the character uncontrollably fast.

Touching the strange man in L1 1W kills you. Maybe there's a reason for it I don't know of, but it doesn't make much sense to me as it is.

Crash bug: In L2, 1N, 1E, wait, south of any of the four movers in the middle and let one of them push you onto the screen below. If you wait below the leftmost one, you die as soon as you get pushed there, only to respawn unharmed in the exact same place. But if you wait below any of the other three, the game crashes as soon as you get pushed off!

In L2, 1W, 3N, one or two of the roaches always seems to get squished one turn too early. I can't quite pin down the reason, but the second one from the top always seems to be one of them.

[Last edited by J.L. at 01-22-2006 01:30 AM]
01-21-2006 at 06:46 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
googa
Level: Moderator
Avatar
Rank Points: 280
Registered: 09-20-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
Thanks for the bugs J.L, i'm fixing them.

[Last edited by googa at 01-22-2006 08:51 PM]
01-22-2006 at 08:50 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Beef Row
Level: Smiter
Rank Points: 471
Registered: 12-28-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
In L4:2E1S if you let the ball push you off the edge of the screen, you appear in 2E alive and well, but there's a blood splatter as if you died. I'm guessing this is because the ball would technically push you into the wall in 2E, not the corridor there.

____________________________
"Now I will repeatedly apply the happy-face rule"
02-01-2006 at 12:12 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
googa
Level: Moderator
Avatar
Rank Points: 280
Registered: 09-20-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
This bug is already fixed, now if a ball pushes you out of the room, you always die. (in the same room)
02-01-2006 at 03:28 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts Quote Reply
RoboBob3000
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1909
Registered: 10-23-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (+1)  
The bug I posted in another thread:

In level 4, 1n and 1e1n have disagreeing water boundaries, so that the ship can wind up on land when traversing west. Take a look at it and you'll see what I mean.

And regarding the rooms completed statistic, it seems to update whenever you clear a room's final monster, not when you first exit a cleared room. I was able to bump my count up by two by clearing, restarting, and clearing again.

____________________________
http://beepsandbloops.wordpress.com/
02-11-2006 at 06:51 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
googa
Level: Moderator
Avatar
Rank Points: 280
Registered: 09-20-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
Oh! thanks a lot for this bug, I was trying to reproduce it for a long time!

Edit---
Haha, bug fixed, 1 line of code.
-------

L4 bug fixed.


[Last edited by googa at 02-11-2006 07:20 AM]
02-11-2006 at 06:54 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Fanka
Level: Delver
Rank Points: 38
Registered: 12-09-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: Bug Tracking. (0)  
A black door needs to be added somewhere in level 9. I actually even decided to leave some of the rooms unconquered and go for level 10 as I was anxious to meet a new character!!
02-11-2006 at 08:03 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Page 1 of 8
2345>>
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Caravel Forum : Other Boards : Wonderquest : Bug Tracking. (If you're having problems running Wonderquest, post here..)
Surf To:


Forum Rules:
Can I post a new topic? No
Can I reply? No
Can I read? Yes
HTML Enabled? No
UBBC Enabled? Yes
Words Filter Enable? No

Contact Us | CaravelGames.com

Powered by: tForum tForumHacks Edition b0.98.8
Originally created by Toan Huynh (Copyright © 2000)
Enhanced by the tForumHacks team and the Caravel team.