Announcement: Be excellent to each other.

Caravel Forum : Caravel Boards : General : Any chance of porting Drod to mobile?
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
Ludacrist
Level: Goblin
Rank Points: 17
IP: Logged
icon Any chance of porting Drod to mobile? (+2)  
I'm a Drod addict who unfortunately doesn't always have much time to game on my computer, but I'm constantly on my phone. I would LOVE to have Drod at my fingertips. Has this been attempted/discussed?

I'm a software engineer and would gladly help with the port however I could if there's interest and support from Caravel.
11-15-2018 at 05:34 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
averagemoe
Level: Smiter
Rank Points: 488
icon Re: Any chance of porting Drod to mobile? (+2)  
Well, Flash DROD has already shrunken down a lot of rooms from KDD. Could that be small enough for the elements to be clearly distinguishable on an iPhone screen?

We'll also need an interface for controlling Beethro with a touch screen, which includes undo, restart, and battle. It can't be done by touching parts of the room, because the player should be able to scan monsters. If character speech doesn't get cut, it can be handled by a text box appearing in the same area as a scroll. Mechanics with the shift key can be removed, since they battle key handles them better. We can condense shift-wait to being what happens if the player uses the battle command when the last move was waiting.

Even with these theories on how to pull it off, I'm still debating whether it's feasible.

11-15-2018 at 06:07 AM
kieranmillar
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 2670
icon Re: Any chance of porting Drod to mobile? (+2)  
DROD in it's current form would struggle to work on mobile because movement and sword rotating takes up 11 different buttons. I think you could maintain the spirit of DROD in some sort of spin-off but it would need to be designed from basic principles with small mobile screens in mind.