Announcement: Be excellent to each other.

Caravel Forum : Other Boards : Anything : Gaming Rig (Anyone good with these things? Hoping to not make myself look like an idiot.)
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
navithmastero
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 597
IP: Logged
icon Gaming Rig (+1)  
Hi, I've been thinking of building myself a gaming machine so that I can play games with top levels graphics at maximum performance, as well as streaming and video editing. I've been using this website to make sure all of the components are compatible. I've never done this before, so anyone with knowledge on this sort of thing is welcome to tell me anything that I have missed, and your verdicts on the following.

I have 3 options which are all around £1100 ($1888).

Option 1:
Click here to view the secret text

Option 2:

Option 3:

I haven't listed any peripherals or the operating system (I will be using Windows 8). I'm planning to overclock the processor, and this is why the power supplies have a higher wattage than the wattage of the base parts. I presume I will need a wireless network adapter, but I also haven't listed them here.

The three parts lists.

A few questions:
Do I need to have such high powered graphics for a monitor of this size? Will my money be better served by making other components better?

Is everything compatible?

Which build do you think is the best?

I used a variety of benchmark sites for reference as to which CPUs / GPUs performed the best.

-nm

One of your local HAs.

My stuff:

[Last edited by navithmastero at 07-06-2014 12:51 PM]
07-02-2014 at 06:24 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
mrimer
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Rank Points: 5058
icon Re: Gaming Rig (0)  
I'm not versed on building gaming rigs, but is using Windows 8 wise if that's your intent? I've heard it has issues. Why not Windows 7?

And I come back to you now at the turn of the tide.