Announcement: Be excellent to each other.


Caravel Forum : DROD Boards : Bugs : Potion at (0,0) and viewing the room map
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
tempestadept
Level: Master Delver
Rank Points: 140
Registered: 12-23-2010
IP: Logged
icon Potion at (0,0) and viewing the room map (+1)  
If there's a mimic/decoy/clone potion in the room at (0,0) and I click on that room on a minimap to show it, the room is displayed in that potion's placement mode: it's shaded, there's a mimic/decoy/clone displayed at (0,0) with a red background, and if it's a decoy, its range is also displayed.
Also the following error is logged both to console and drod.err:
Assertion error in line 2739 of ../../DROD/RoomWidget.cpp: "this->bShowingPlayer"

I'm using 5.0.1.6061 on Linux x64.

[Last edited by tempestadept at 11-07-2014 02:11 PM]
11-07-2014 at 12:24 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores Quote Reply
disoriented
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 1465
Registered: 08-07-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: Potion at (0,0) and viewing the room map (0)  
Probably related to this bug

____________________________
34th Skywatcher
11-07-2014 at 04:35 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Moo
Level: Master Delver
Rank Points: 215
Registered: 10-14-2006
IP: Logged
icon Re: Potion at (0,0) and viewing the room map (0)  
This is probably related, and I seem to remember there may have been another similar thread. My guess is that the "player" is placed (invisibly, and perhaps unintentionally) on 0,0 when the room is displayed, and that leads to these strange effects.
Edit: Ninja...

[Last edited by Moo at 11-07-2014 04:38 PM : Drat, ninjad again.]
11-07-2014 at 04:37 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Schik
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 5096
Registered: 02-04-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: Potion at (0,0) and viewing the room map (+1)  
Current fix is broken, it asserts all over the place, and sometimes crashes.

Edit: To get the crash:
Click current room in minimap to bring up the big map.
Click a room in the big map.

Ugh. This isn't consistent, but do it a bunch of times and it will crash in CDbRoom::GetTSquare(UINT) because a way too big index is passed in and that (!tObj) check isn't good enough.

____________________________
The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way it treats its animals.
--Mahatma Gandhi

[Last edited by Schik at 06-01-2015 08:57 PM]
06-01-2015 at 08:46 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores Quote Reply
skell
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2412
Registered: 12-28-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Potion at (0,0) and viewing the room map (+1)  
This has been fixed properly in 5.0.2!

____________________________
My website | Facebook | Twitter
07-01-2015 at 08:26 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
bomber50
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 872
Registered: 09-18-2006
IP: Logged
icon Re: Potion at (0,0) and viewing the room map (+1)  
Tested in 5.0.2, and this issue appears to have been fixed. Potions and gentryii appear at (0,0) when viewing the room from outside of it.
07-26-2015 at 06:20 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Caravel Forum : DROD Boards : Bugs : Potion at (0,0) and viewing the room map
Surf To:


Forum Rules:
Can I post a new topic? No
Can I reply? No
Can I read? Yes
HTML Enabled? No
UBBC Enabled? Yes
Words Filter Enable? No

Contact Us | CaravelGames.com

Powered by: tForum tForumHacks Edition b0.98.8
Originally created by Toan Huynh (Copyright © 2000)
Enhanced by the tForumHacks team and the Caravel team.