Announcement: Why not try our official idea generator for inspiration when making puzzles?


Caravel Forum : DROD Boards : Architecture : "Longest room" contest
123
Page 4 of 5
5
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
Doom
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 3042
Registered: 07-05-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
Oops, my mistake in third room. I'll upload a new version in few minutes.

I've not played them yourself yet. the move amounts given were only estimates of quick testing.
09-27-2004 at 05:35 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Stefan
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2117
Registered: 05-25-2004
IP: Logged

File: long_demos.zip (46.1 KB)
Downloaded 77 times.
License: Other
From: Unspecified
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (+1)  
Here's some victory demos for the long rooms. Be warned, they're incredibly boring to watch... :D

Demo stats:
The Entrance: 2192 moves, 13:03
1E: 18244 moves, 34:42
1S1E: 34617 moves, 1:20:51

____________________________
0.099
09-28-2004 at 02:55 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
gamer_extreme_101
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1927
Registered: 03-07-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
quote:
Stefan wrote:
1S1E: 34617 moves, 1:20:51
Wow....I see you found a heavy object to hold down the "5" key as you watched TV and ate food, eh? Or you have a lot of free time on your hands....

____________________________
--That guy with a million different aliases since he doesn't like this name anymore.
09-28-2004 at 03:00 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Stefan
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2117
Registered: 05-25-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
quote:
gamer_extreme_101 wrote:
Wow....I see you found a heavy object to hold down the "5" key as you watched TV and ate food, eh? Or you have a lot of free time on your hands....
Actually neither. I should really get some (about 4 hours) sleep now... :sleeping

____________________________
0.099
09-28-2004 at 03:08 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Doom
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 3042
Registered: 07-05-2004
IP: Logged

File: Eternity 3.hold (2.8 KB)
Downloaded 125 times.
License: Other
From: Unspecified
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (+1)  
Someone had to do it for JtRH: Eternity 3!

I'm not really sure how many moves it takes to complete it but the amount of orbs is now 162.
04-02-2005 at 02:34 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Zaratustra00
Level: Master Delver
Rank Points: 107
Registered: 11-12-2004
IP: Logged

File: The Lap Game.hold (777 bytes)
Downloaded 77 times.
License: Other
From: Unspecified
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (+1)  
This one isn't very long, but I don't think the mimic/force arrow/platform method has been used by anyone, so here it is.

I forgot how long it takes.
04-02-2005 at 08:06 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
SbCl3
Level: Delver
Rank Points: 61
Registered: 02-13-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
Why not just make a room with a 2-tile-long passage and the whole room filled up with roaches? That way beethro can kill 15 ever 30 moves. Just put nests on force arrows in a way that they produce 14 bugs.

This might of been mentioned before, but i'm lazy and didn't want to read the whole thread.
04-04-2005 at 10:47 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
TripleM
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 1361
Registered: 02-05-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
quote:
SbCl3 wrote:
Why not just make a room with a 2-tile-long passage and the whole room filled up with roaches? That way beethro can kill 15 ever 30 moves. Just put nests on force arrows in a way that they produce 14 bugs.

This might of been mentioned before, but i'm lazy and didn't want to read the whole thread.


Nope, I don't think this has been mentioned before. But if you want to see a reason why:

Theres about 32x38 tiles in a room, if we times that by 30 we get about 36480 moves required. (Approximate, as we need walls and stuff.)

I think the biggest number of moves required from one of the rooms in this thread is approximately 267609623000000000000000000000000000000000000.
:)

04-07-2005 at 09:00 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Krishh
Level: Master Delver
Rank Points: 282
Registered: 06-05-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
Someone who knows how to do that kind of things could probably write a macro to solve these rooms, and record a demo of that. :) Wouldn't probably be all too fun to watch though.
04-07-2005 at 12:00 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Rabscuttle
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1865
Registered: 09-10-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
I think the really long ones are long enough to break your computer. And quite possibly the universe.
04-07-2005 at 02:33 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Maurog
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1496
Registered: 09-16-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
Even if each move is stored in a single bit, I don't think we have enough computer storage space on Earth to record such a demo.

____________________________
Slay the living! Raise the dead!
Paint the sky in crimson red!
04-07-2005 at 02:47 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
SbCl3
Level: Delver
Rank Points: 61
Registered: 02-13-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
quote:
TripleM wrote:
quote:
SbCl3 wrote:
Why not just make a room with a 2-tile-long passage and the whole room filled up with roaches? That way beethro can kill 15 ever 30 moves. Just put nests on force arrows in a way that they produce 14 bugs.

This might of been mentioned before, but i'm lazy and didn't want to read the whole thread.


Nope, I don't think this has been mentioned before. But if you want to see a reason why:

Theres about 32x38 tiles in a room, if we times that by 30 we get about 36480 moves required. (Approximate, as we need walls and stuff.)

I think the biggest number of moves required from one of the rooms in this thread is approximately 267609623000000000000000000000000000000000000.
:)



Wow..which one was it?
04-13-2005 at 01:26 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
agaricus5
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1839
Registered: 02-04-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
quote:
SbCl3 wrote:
quote:
TripleM wrote:
quote:
SbCl3 wrote:
Why not just make a room with a 2-tile-long passage and the whole room filled up with roaches? That way beethro can kill 15 ever 30 moves. Just put nests on force arrows in a way that they produce 14 bugs.

This might of been mentioned before, but i'm lazy and didn't want to read the whole thread.


Nope, I don't think this has been mentioned before. But if you want to see a reason why:

Theres about 32x38 tiles in a room, if we times that by 30 we get about 36480 moves required. (Approximate, as we need walls and stuff.)

I think the biggest number of moves required from one of the rooms in this thread is approximately 267609623000000000000000000000000000000000000.
:)



Wow..which one was it?

My one, "Eternity 2".

It is the current 1.6 record holder, but Doom's "Eternity 3" topples it by some powers of 10, I believe.

____________________________
Resident Medic/Mycologist
04-13-2005 at 07:25 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
RoboBob3000
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1914
Registered: 10-23-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
There's gotta be some way now to top our record by throwing nasty scripts into the mix. I might give it a go, but that requires learning the system first. Ugh.

____________________________
http://beepsandbloops.wordpress.com/
04-14-2005 at 01:27 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Watcher
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 902
Registered: 02-04-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
Scripting is out of the question. If you get to use scripting, you can simply make an otherwise empty room with an invincible character blocking the way to the stairs. Have the character wait a number of turns before disappearing, and you can make the room require as many turns as you like.

____________________________
Today the refrigerator, tomorrow the world!
04-14-2005 at 01:52 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
RoboBob3000
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1914
Registered: 10-23-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
Well, I checked it out in the editor, and you can't make a character wait more than 9999 moves. Although, I imagine there is some way you can get this behavior to loop indefinately, so yeah, it probably isn't even worthwhile to consider.

____________________________
http://beepsandbloops.wordpress.com/
04-14-2005 at 04:00 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
schep
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 863
Registered: 03-01-2005
IP: Logged

File: Eternal Script.hold (22.5 KB)
Downloaded 99 times.
License: Other
From: Unspecified
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (+2)  
Since when has "not worthwhile to consider" stopped folks around here? I had already been working on this, but even 8-line scripts take a while, when you want hundreds of them. As it is, I've only programmed 11 out of the 606 characters this room ought to have. So the attached hold can be completed in a mere 1025 moves, but you'll get the idea.

The entire thing would take 2^605+1 moves, which is over a google, or precisely 1327844982041917746723970516381171568323982794317579807998610345501008899 6521306068479062556630732141722233237156162525383664483441317680985237999 4691646837985957817708848304757932033.
I think adding pauses to scripts could multiply that number but not raise by many orders of magnitude per pause. I could be wrong about that.

[Edited by schep at Local Time:04-14-2005 at 05:17 AM: oh yeah, that number would make the HTML ugly and annoying]

[Edited by schep at Local Time:04-23-2005 at 04:44 AM]
04-14-2005 at 05:14 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
schep
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 863
Registered: 03-01-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (+1)  
I have just replaced the hold in my previous message with a complete version. One interesting thing is that I've noticed a definite slowdown in play. It's definitely pegging my CPU and not my key repeat rate, with all those characters checking their wait conditions every turn.

Yes, I did figure out how to add and program characters outside the DROD editor. It was a fun trip through the DROD source code and my data files, for the most part. And I did it mostly by hand; the only part of the source I actually compiled and executed was Base64.cpp. But for any future hacks like this I feel compelled to try, I think I'll see if I can link to DRODLib instead. On the other hand, some of the small tools I made along the way could be useful for inspecting specific problems.

04-23-2005 at 04:58 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Maurog
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1496
Registered: 09-16-2004
IP: Logged

File: Slaying Time.hold (2.6 KB)
Downloaded 75 times.
License: Other
From: Unspecified
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (+1)  
Here is my first try at this thingy... this is basically a serpent room, only without the serpents. The movement of each Slayer pair is dictated by a different prime. So theoretically there is a moment when they all synchronize and you can win. I am lazy so I only coded 5 primes - they leave you a gap at 3, 5, 7, 11 and 13 respectively, but by the pattern you can see how to continue that (maybe I'll finish the room later).

PS: You don't really need a pair of Slayers, but it looks much cooler :)

[Edited by Maurog at Local Time:04-23-2005 at 11:46 PM: Now with 10 primes!]

____________________________
Slay the living! Raise the dead!
Paint the sky in crimson red!
04-23-2005 at 04:12 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
schep
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 863
Registered: 03-01-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
Actually, you don't want to start moving when "they all synchronize". You need a timing so that each pair will open up just before you get there. In the current version, this happens if Beethro starts moving after 788 turns. If you put a beginning delay of 1 turn on the second pair, 2 on the third, and so on, the best would indeed be waiting for 3*5*7*11*13=15015 turns. I think this sort of idea could blow away my hold's order of magnitude.

Also, after waiting out those 788 turns and running the gauntlet, I killed all the slayers and read the scroll in-game. Maybe what you envisioned would make that impossible, but this version does not.
04-23-2005 at 05:39 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Maurog
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1496
Registered: 09-16-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
Heh, I knew that it's not exactly 15015 moves, and it was so nice when they clashed their hooks at the first turn. But you're right, I'll add the delays.

Also, you could kill the slayers only because there are unmoving ones. They don't need to be invincible if they all move, if you kill a slayer, you are sure to be hooked by another.

____________________________
Slay the living! Raise the dead!
Paint the sky in crimson red!
04-23-2005 at 06:00 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Doom
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 3042
Registered: 07-05-2004
IP: Logged

File: Rattlesnake Looping.hold (1 KB)
Downloaded 115 times.
License: Other
From: Unspecified
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (+4)  
Here's something small I made a few days ago when I was bored.

There's only one 3-square rattlesnake, no scripts (except one pre-placed mimic) and it should require something around 400000+ moves to finish.

Note: The rattlesnake could be 600 squares long and the solution length wouldn't change at all.
05-05-2005 at 07:46 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
sims5000
Level: Master Delver
Avatar
Rank Points: 117
Registered: 01-04-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
look at this room, I don't know how many moves it is, but it's very long

Edit: new version in different post

[Edited by sims5000 at Local Time:05-08-2005 at 12:14 PM]
05-07-2005 at 01:22 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Doom
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 3042
Registered: 07-05-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
quote:
sims5000 wrote:
look at this room, I don't know how many moves it is, but it's very long
It should be around 1'157'000 moves long but as Stefan corrected, it's impossible...

[Edited by Doom at Local Time:06-03-2005 at 07:46 PM: a mistake with the original post]
05-07-2005 at 01:41 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Stefan
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2117
Registered: 05-25-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
Very long indeed, it's impossible. The rattlesnake gets trapped after a while. It could probably be fixed by appropriately placed force arrows, though.

____________________________
0.099
05-07-2005 at 01:48 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
sims5000
Level: Master Delver
Avatar
Rank Points: 117
Registered: 01-04-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
Okay, Is this one possible?
05-08-2005 at 12:14 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Stefan
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2117
Registered: 05-25-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
No, it's still not possible. Wait until about move 3300 with your sword NE and you'll see what I mean. The rattlesnake gets trapped in itself. I tried playing around with it in the editor, but couldn't really figure out any smart solution, because the force arrow addition wouldn't have worked.

____________________________
0.099
05-08-2005 at 08:32 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
rowrow
Level: Smiter
Rank Points: 431
Registered: 08-17-2004
IP: Logged

File: Long room.hold (2.3 KB)
Downloaded 83 times.
License: Other
From: Unspecified
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
I'v sort of tested it but I need to know if it takes a long amount of moves or even if its possible.

____________________________
B'hakhgra Du S'tra Moth'ness Ti!
05-09-2005 at 01:53 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Stefan
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2117
Registered: 05-25-2004
IP: Logged

File: Lr level 1 1N Victory.demo (3.1 KB)
Downloaded 65 times.
License: Other
From: Unspecified
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
quote:
rowrow wrote:
I'v sort of tested it but I need to know if it takes a long amount of moves or even if its possible.
It's possible. I solved it in about 5200 moves, but it can be solved in (a lot) less than that. Here's a demo.

____________________________
0.099
05-09-2005 at 02:28 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
sims5000
Level: Master Delver
Avatar
Rank Points: 117
Registered: 01-04-2004
IP: Logged

File: LRS3000.hold (3.6 KB)
Downloaded 94 times.
License: Other
From: Unspecified
icon Re: "Longest room" contest (0)  
Is this one possiable with the arrows init?
05-09-2005 at 05:38 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
123
Page 4 of 5
5
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Caravel Forum : DROD Boards : Architecture : "Longest room" contest
Surf To:


Forum Rules:
Can I post a new topic? No
Can I reply? No
Can I read? Yes
HTML Enabled? No
UBBC Enabled? Yes
Words Filter Enable? No

Contact Us | CaravelGames.com

Powered by: tForum tForumHacks Edition b0.98.8
Originally created by Toan Huynh (Copyright © 2000)
Enhanced by the tForumHacks team and the Caravel team.