Announcement: Be excellent to each other.


Caravel Forum : Caravel Boards : General : The Inevitable Patch (TSS 5.1.0, RPG 1.2.7, GatEB 4.0.2, TCB 3.3.0, JtRH/KDD 2.0.17 -- Bug fixes and increased performance)
12
Page 3 of 13
4567>>
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
b0rsuk
Level: Smiter
Avatar
Rank Points: 488
Registered: 11-23-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (0)  
Hey thanks.

I didn't patch on assumption that
1) Nothing bad will happen if I don't try anything funny (like killing a roach queen on room edge)

But what about holds I just downloaded from drod.net website ? It shouldn't happen...

The Puzzlebox
Domain of Grinfidel
Dodecahedral Hold
. . . a Delver's Delight
The Palace of Puzzles JTRH remake 1.0 (more less)

and some others. But I can't import any of these.


____________________________

http://www.gamasutra.com/features/20051128/adams_01.shtml
09-19-2005 at 10:52 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Tim
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1975
Registered: 08-07-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (0)  
quote:
b0rsuk wrote:
The Puzzlebox, Domain of Grinfidel, Dodecahedral Hold, a Delver's Delight, The Palace of Puzzles JTRH remake 1.0 (more less)

and some others. But I can't import any of these.

Hi, you might have missed any of Stefan's last post on the previous page, but I guess the reason you have importing problems with these holds, is because they have special floors.

I think they will work if you use the latest version of JtRH.

-- Tim

____________________________
The best way to lose customers is to let little kids running loose on a forum with too many mod points.
09-19-2005 at 08:50 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Stefan
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2117
Registered: 05-25-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (0)  
No. The bug was an export problem, which means that those holds would only (possibly) be affected if they were exported from 2.0.3 (and if they were affected, you wouldn't be able to import them either). The problem is something else.

____________________________
0.099
09-19-2005 at 09:46 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Banjooie
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1610
Registered: 12-12-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (0)  
So, the title says 2.0.10, but there's no mention of it in the thread, and the CaravelGames site says 2.0.9 still.
10-03-2005 at 09:11 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Oneiromancer
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2928
Registered: 03-29-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (+1)  
Too quick for your own good, sheesh. It did get posted, but there was a bug with the patch. Mike took it down and it will be up again shortly.

Game on,

____________________________
"He who is certain he knows the ending of things when he is only beginning them is either extremely wise or extremely foolish; no matter which is true, he is certainly an unhappy man, for he has put a knife in the heart of wonder." -- Tad Williams
10-03-2005 at 09:14 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Banjooie
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1610
Registered: 12-12-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (0)  
My timing is clearly quite peccable indeed.
10-03-2005 at 09:16 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
mrimer
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 4335
Registered: 02-04-2003
IP: Logged
icon JtRH 2.0.10 Patch (0)  
The DROD:Journey to Rooted Hold 2.0.10 patch is available. It includes the following improvements:

CaravelNet batch score upload: much quicker.
Loads, saves, and data lookups: optimized (especially NPC script initialization and hold imports).
Death restarts: Now pressing R during the death sequence will restart instantly.

And the following bug fixes:

NPC: command coords were updated incorrectly when a room is reflected via F7/F8 in the editor.
Room copying: Fixed bug in 2.0.9: room records duplicated when copying certain rooms to another hold in the level editor.
Fixed several memory leaks.
Minor aesthetic fixes.

The Windows patch can be downloaded here. (Linux forthcoming.)

____________________________
Gandalf? Yes... That's what they
used to call me.
Gandalf the Grey. That was my name.
I am Gandalf the White.
And I come back to you now at the
turn of the tide.
10-03-2005 at 10:07 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Alneyan
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 622
Registered: 07-06-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (0)  
The patch seems to be working fine now: I hope you taught that silly patch what happens when it doesn't behave.

Thanks!
10-03-2005 at 10:12 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Andy101
Level: Master Delver
Rank Points: 222
Registered: 07-22-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (+1)  
Yes, second time lucky.

This version can also be installed over the previous dodgy 2.0.10 patch and fixes all those funny text problems :thumbsup

____________________________
"True perfection has to be imperfect"

[Last edited by Andy101 at 10-03-2005 10:14 PM]
10-03-2005 at 10:14 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
RoboBob3000
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1909
Registered: 10-23-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (0)  
Methinks the high score updater is being a bit wacky. I seem to be recording a bunch first place scores for Level 13 of KDD 2.0, including one that is a one-move demo.

____________________________
http://beepsandbloops.wordpress.com/
10-04-2005 at 05:44 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Schik
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 5093
Registered: 02-04-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (+1)  
quote:
RoboBob3000 wrote:
Methinks the high score updater is being a bit wacky. I seem to be recording a bunch first place scores for Level 13 of KDD 2.0, including one that is a one-move demo.
The fact that you're getting first place scores is normal - most rooms in L13 were marked as non-interesting for high scores, so there were no high scores. Updating a hold resets the non-interesting flag, in case there were changes that make the room interesting.

However, the fact that you've now got first place scores that are one move is a bug in the spider. It got a big wad of demos from you, and is happily reporting that the one-move demos are indeed valid. I've fixed the spider, so it will now report those rooms as uninteresting. I'll leave your highscores, as it should fix itself as people play the rooms you've got the 1-move #1s in.

____________________________
The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way it treats its animals.
--Mahatma Gandhi
10-04-2005 at 05:52 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores Quote Reply
Banjooie
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1610
Registered: 12-12-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: JtRH 2.0.10 Patch (0)  
quote:
mrimer wrote:
The Windows patch can be downloaded here. (Linux forthcoming.)


Unless, apparently, you have the demo and not the full?
10-04-2005 at 07:33 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
mrimer
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 4335
Registered: 02-04-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: JtRH 2.0.10 Patch (0)  
quote:
Banjooie wrote:
quote:
mrimer wrote:
The Windows patch can be downloaded here. (Linux forthcoming.)


Unless, apparently, you have the demo and not the full?
That's right. It has unfortunately become unwieldy for us to maintain patches on the demo version. If you'd like to get the new demo version, you may download it from the Caravel Games website.

____________________________
Gandalf? Yes... That's what they
used to call me.
Gandalf the Grey. That was my name.
I am Gandalf the White.
And I come back to you now at the
turn of the tide.
10-04-2005 at 03:55 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Banjooie
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1610
Registered: 12-12-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (0)  
...This would be somewhat less rage-inducing if I could install the new version in its 24MB entirety directly over my old version.

10-04-2005 at 09:02 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Alneyan
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 622
Registered: 07-06-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (0)  
quote:
Schik wrote:
However, the fact that you've now got first place scores that are one move is a bug in the spider. It got a big wad of demos from you, and is happily reporting that the one-move demos are indeed valid. I've fixed the spider, so it will now report those rooms as uninteresting. I'll leave your highscores, as it should fix itself as people play the rooms you've got the 1-move #1s in.


I can confirm it works as advertised: I just "killed" L8 1S (KDD2) from the highscores by uploading another 1-move demo. Thanks!
10-04-2005 at 09:54 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
mrimer
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 4335
Registered: 02-04-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (0)  
quote:
Banjooie wrote:
...This would be somewhat less rage-inducing if I could install the new version in its 24MB entirety directly over my old version.

Well, you should be fine using the .dat files in your existing JtRH Data directory. Just install the new demo into a different directory and then overwrite the fresh .dat files with your existing ones. This might not work every time, but at least this time it ought to.

____________________________
Gandalf? Yes... That's what they
used to call me.
Gandalf the Grey. That was my name.
I am Gandalf the White.
And I come back to you now at the
turn of the tide.
10-04-2005 at 10:26 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
bandit1200
Level: Master Delver
Rank Points: 289
Registered: 10-29-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (0)  
I notice the patch can get confused if JtRH isn't where it expects it to be. I browse to where I have it installed - e:\\games\\DROD - Journey to Rooted Hold - but the patch sticks another DROD - JtRH folder in there, so it wants to install to e:\\games\\DROD - JtRH\\DROD - JtRH\\, IYSWIM. As I'd copied the patch to the JtRH directory first, didn't it really ought to be intelligent enough to recognise that the drod.exe is in there? Let's face it, 11 and 12 year old l33t crackers can make their patches do that. ;)
10-05-2005 at 11:53 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
DiMono
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1159
Registered: 09-13-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (0)  
Are the people running things aware that download.php has no page title? I got confused when I changed windows.

____________________________
Deploy the... I think it's a yellow button... it's usually flashing... it makes the engines go... WHOOSH!
10-05-2005 at 04:25 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
bandit1200
Level: Master Delver
Rank Points: 289
Registered: 10-29-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (0)  
I'm not sure this has anything to with the patch, but since installing the latest patch this morning, when I complete a room in KDD 2, there's no message. If I press F6, it says "there are no high scores for this room yet." Actually, the first message I got was something like, "this hold is not on Caravelnet."
Yep, I am connected to Caravelnet.

Edit: Forgot to say that I also got the KDD2 update after installing the patch.

[Last edited by bandit1200 at 10-05-2005 04:54 PM]
10-05-2005 at 04:53 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Oneiromancer
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2928
Registered: 03-29-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (0)  
Well, if you got the KDD2 update, then I'm stumped. I assume other holds still say they're published on CaravelNet?

Game on,

____________________________
"He who is certain he knows the ending of things when he is only beginning them is either extremely wise or extremely foolish; no matter which is true, he is certainly an unhappy man, for he has put a knife in the heart of wonder." -- Tad Williams
10-05-2005 at 05:00 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
mrimer
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 4335
Registered: 02-04-2003
IP: Logged
icon 2.0.11 JtRH Patch Released (Windows) (+3)  
The DROD:Journey to Rooted Hold 2.0.11 patch is available. It includes the following improvements:

Demo recording isn't aborted now when rewinding to a move inside the recording session.
Lost drod.ini entries are now set to default values on startup.
Reduced slowness caused by unneeded data saves.
Faster in-game rewinding to a checkpoint save.
Halph pathmapping faster with lots of monsters in the room.

And the following bug fixes:

Script editing bug: Commands created, then changed to a Label type, couldn't be made Goto destinations.
Victory demo recording wasn't working after restoring to the start of a clean room.
Slayer's wisp couldn't find player on a tunnel; wisp shouldn't intersect decoy swords.
Goblins now avoid decoy's sword when targetting the decoy.
Targetting decoys: ties in step distance to decoys are now broken by Manhattan distance measure (reduced dependence on decoy placement order).
Now orb associations aren't lost when door tiles are deleted in the room editor.
Scripted sounds wouldn't play repeatedly.
Minor aesthetic and UI fixes.

The Windows patch can be downloaded here. (KDD and Linux patches forthcoming.)

____________________________
Gandalf? Yes... That's what they
used to call me.
Gandalf the Grey. That was my name.
I am Gandalf the White.
And I come back to you now at the
turn of the tide.

[Last edited by mrimer at 12-05-2005 06:43 PM]
12-05-2005 at 06:32 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Alneyan
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 622
Registered: 07-06-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (+1)  
Open doors still look green here, though it might be a different shade than before (it's closer to the green of the force arrows than to the green of green doors). I suspect what I call green isn't what you call green either.

The Location screen is blinking because the game checks your completed holds, and set the % value accordingly. Once it has checked all your holds, it will stop blinking. Well, except that it will check again the next time you go to the Change Location screen.

And the Wizard isn't kidding about the faster Restore screen: it went from "slow" to "the room appeared *before* I clicked on it" for me. I didn't really notice it was slow before, but the difference is obvious now. Thanks!

[Last edited by Alneyan at 12-05-2005 08:10 PM]
12-05-2005 at 08:08 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Doom
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 3013
Registered: 07-05-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (0)  
quote:
Alneyan wrote:
The Location screen is blinking because the game checks your completed holds, and set the % value accordingly. Once it has checked all your holds, it will stop blinking.
Its still a little annoying to see the blinking. And it does it every time you access the change location screen.

Restore is a lot more usable again. Yay!
I still use another copy of Drod for hold building, though. It's significantly faster to playtest and switch rooms after making changes with a close to fresh installation.
12-05-2005 at 08:15 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
StuartK
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 564
Registered: 06-10-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: 2.0.11 JtRH Patch Released (Windows) (+1)  
quote:
mrimer wrote:
Reduced slowness caused by unneeded data saves.

'Reduced' just doesn't do that change justice - the interface is suddenly a pleasure to use once again. Brilliant - thankyou Mike for making the change, and Michthro for tracking down the cause.
12-06-2005 at 09:39 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
mrimer
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 4335
Registered: 02-04-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: 2.0.11 JtRH Patch Released (Windows) (+2)  
I have bad news: Stefan found a new crash bug in 2.0.11. As far as I can tell as this point, it can happen when rewinding to checkpoints in some rooms with room-altering scripting (a script activates an orb, for instance). The crash shouldn't corrupt your data or lose your player progress or anything like that, but I'm going to fix it and post an updated patch soon.

quote:
StuartK wrote:
quote:
mrimer wrote:
Reduced slowness caused by unneeded data saves.

'Reduced' just doesn't do that change justice - the interface is suddenly a pleasure to use once again. Brilliant - thankyou Mike for making the change, and Michthro for tracking down the cause.
Wonderful! That makes me very happy to hear.

____________________________
Gandalf? Yes... That's what they
used to call me.
Gandalf the Grey. That was my name.
I am Gandalf the White.
And I come back to you now at the
turn of the tide.
12-06-2005 at 06:46 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
mrimer
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 4335
Registered: 02-04-2003
IP: Logged
icon Windows 2.0.11 JtRH patch -- Take 2 (0)  
I've uploaded a new Windows JtRH patch to version 2.0.11 that fixes the crash mentioned above. I also removes the flickering wait cursor that nobody likes from the hold selection screen. I would recommend everyone who has already downloaded the 2.0.11 patch to get it again and reinstall it.

____________________________
Gandalf? Yes... That's what they
used to call me.
Gandalf the Grey. That was my name.
I am Gandalf the White.
And I come back to you now at the
turn of the tide.

[Last edited by mrimer at 12-06-2005 08:04 PM]
12-06-2005 at 08:03 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
eytanz
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2707
Registered: 02-05-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (0)  
I installed the second 2.0.11 patch, and now I have to wait about 20-30 seconds when entering the "change location" screen before it is fully responsive.

I have all the caravelnet holds downloaded, plus a few non-caravelnet ones.

____________________________
I got my avatar back! Yay!
12-06-2005 at 08:33 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
mrimer
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 4335
Registered: 02-04-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (0)  
quote:
eytanz wrote:
I installed the second 2.0.11 patch, and now I have to wait about 20-30 seconds when entering the "change location" screen before it is fully responsive.
I didn't change anything about the performance on that screen from the first to second 2.0.11 patch -- just that the cursor no longer changes to look like an hourglass during this time.

____________________________
Gandalf? Yes... That's what they
used to call me.
Gandalf the Grey. That was my name.
I am Gandalf the White.
And I come back to you now at the
turn of the tide.
12-06-2005 at 08:49 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Alneyan
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 622
Registered: 07-06-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (+1)  
The second patch gets the job done for me, with no apparent side effects.
12-06-2005 at 09:01 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
trick
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Rank Points: 2578
Registered: 04-12-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: The Inevitable Patch (+1)  
Linux patch for 2.0.11 is up! Woo! Works with both JtRH and KDD, full and demo versions, even. Will wonders never cease.

Well, kind of. If you look a bit closer, you will probably notice that this patch only patches (or actually, replaces) the executable with version 2.0.11. This does of course fix all bugs and such, but you won't get fixes to help files etc with this one. A more complete patch will come, er, eventually.

PS. Extra bonus: Completely unnecessary patcher GUI! Hooray!

- Gerry
12-10-2005 at 02:15 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores Quote Reply
12
Page 3 of 13
4567>>
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Caravel Forum : Caravel Boards : General : The Inevitable Patch (TSS 5.1.0, RPG 1.2.7, GatEB 4.0.2, TCB 3.3.0, JtRH/KDD 2.0.17 -- Bug fixes and increased performance)
Surf To:


Forum Rules:
Can I post a new topic? No
Can I reply? No
Can I read? Yes
HTML Enabled? No
UBBC Enabled? Yes
Words Filter Enable? No

Contact Us | CaravelGames.com

Powered by: tForum tForumHacks Edition b0.98.8
Originally created by Toan Huynh (Copyright © 2000)
Enhanced by the tForumHacks team and the Caravel team.