Announcement: Be excellent to each other.

Caravel Forum : Caravel Boards : Press Clippings : Review of DROD:GatEB at TIGSource
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
Bombadil
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 509
IP: Logged
icon Review of DROD:GatEB at TIGSource (+2)  

A review of GatEB from SirNiko has been posted at TIGSource:

http://www.tigsource.com/2012/04/10/review-drod-gunthro-and-the-epic-blunder/
04-10-2012 at 10:02 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Boris Carl Orff
Level: Goblin
Rank Points: 19
icon Re: Review of DROD:GatEB at TIGSource (+2)  
Well, as the reviewer states: "If you’ve never played a DROD game before, you may find Epic Blunder to be a great point to start." Good point here - I have read similar comments elswhere. If I'm honest I'm not totally new to DROD but consider myself an absolute beginner really.

The reviews I have read are clearly written by DROD veterans who are comparing GatEB to previous versions (none of which I have had much success with by the way).

I suppose this may be a tad off-putting to a total novice, however I agree it is a great introduction to the series. Perhaps the marketing and/or title should have been a bit different?

It would be nice to read a review by someone coming to DROD for the first time.
04-10-2012 at 11:01 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
mrimer
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Rank Points: 5056
icon Re: Review of DROD:GatEB at TIGSource (+5)  
Agreed. It's good to get press, I guess, but that's a sad review, in more than one way. It does take a fair amount of time discussing various aspects of the game at a high level, and I acknowledge it is fair in assessing the artistic merits of the plot progression and side characters, but this review strikes a sour chord with me. :?