Announcement: Be excellent to each other.

Caravel Forum : DROD Boards : Bugs : Installing DRODAE on Ubuntu 64bit
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
Blatm
Level: Roachling
Rank Points: 11
IP: Logged
icon Installing DRODAE on Ubuntu 64bit (0)  
Hi,

I'm a longtime DROD fan and feel compelled to install it on my new Ubuntu 64bit laptop. However, I'm also very new to Linux and hence very incompetent. I have downloaded the Linux Architect's Eddition .run file from forum.caravelgames.com/downloads.php and now my terminal looks like:

blatm@Bob:~/Downloads$ sh DRODAESetup-1.6.7.run   [note: please don't assume I'm competent enough to know what I just did]
Verifying archive integrity... All good.
Uncompressing DROD: Architects' Edition...........................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Gtk-WARNING **: Failed to load module "libcanberra-gtk-module.so": libcanberra-gtk-module.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

Gdk-WARNING **: locale not supported by C library

An installation window popped up, I told it where to install, and now I have a /drod-ae directory.

blatm@Bob:~/drod-ae$ ls
Caravel DROD Licensing Overview.txt  Data  drod-ae  drodae.xpm  Libs  uninstall

I don't know what to do from here. Any help would be much appreciated.
06-07-2011 at 12:47 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Syntax
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 1218
icon Re: Installing DRODAE on Ubuntu 64bit (0)  
I can't help you with this, but are you specifically wanting to play AE?

I'd recommend getting the TCB demo (with linux installer) which allows you to play 100 (200?) custom made holds for free...
06-08-2011 at 11:18 PM
west.logan
Rank Points: 608