Announcement: Be excellent to each other.

Caravel Forum : Other Boards : Electronic Games : Ruby & Majesty: Treasure Team (possibly coop action puzzler with a Mood to it)
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
Xindaris
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 1527
IP: Logged
icon Ruby & Majesty: Treasure Team (+2)  
Here's an action/puzzle game (I dunno what the best genre words for it exactly) that I think flew under a lot of radars. I know it flew under mine for quite a while; from what I can tell it came out in 2018, I bought it late 2019/early 2020, and then after playing it for a while I kinda forgot it existed until today. Well, I just started playing it again and realized it might be a good fit for some people in this forum.

Ruby & Majesty: Treasure Team is built around a very simple overarching concept. Basically, you control two characters--a bat and a cyborg--each with the arrow keys, simultaneously. All of the interactions in the game are built out of just the two player characters moving. But there is still plenty of puzzle complexity from that alone. For starters, the bat can fly over pits and spikes, but is stopped/pushed by fans, while the human has the opposite situation; the human can push heavy blocks and things which the bat can't...etc.

Now, when I say "you", that can be singular or plural. I've been playing this game alone since I don't have any in-person friends who'd be interested in playing it with me, but the control settings are designed in a way where either a single person or two people could play the game--one as the human and one as the bat in the latter case. For a single player, there's a bit of a coordination challenge to controlling two different characters with different move speeds simultaneously, each with one hand. But of course, two players would need to work together effectively and communicate well to solve some of the more timing-based stuff.