Announcement: Be excellent to each other.

Caravel Forum : Other Boards : Anything : The Tidings Of Minos (I'm running a Kickstarter for something cool!)
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
DiMono
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 1181
IP: Logged
icon The Tidings Of Minos (+5)  
I haven't really been around here much lately, but this community is where I first got my feet wet with creating puzzles. Recently I've taken what I learned here and used it to become a well known and respected creator of variant sudoku puzzles. You can find some 15 of my puzzles featured on the Cracking The Cryptic YouTube channel.

It may be less well known here that I am also a writer. Earlier this year I invented a genre that combines some of those sudokus with a National Treasure-style adventure. The first story in this genre was a novella called The Jewels Of Osiris, an adventure based in Egyptian mythology and told in the second person (i.e. 'You' do this, etc), and any time the protagonist reached a point where they had to figure something out to make progress, the reader got to solve puzzles and enter the solution in order to open the next part of the story. This made it a very immersive experience.

The Jewels Of Osiris was released as a Cracking The Cryptic Patreon reward in May, and people really liked it, so I've decided to try to continue the story. To that end, I've started a Kickstarter campaign for it's Greek mythology-based sequel The Tidings Of Minos. It will begin on the island of Crete, being the location of the myth of the Minotaur, and who knows where it will go from there? Kickstarter named it a "Project We Love" on its second day, so I guess they think it's pretty cool.

I'm super excited about this project, and I really want it to succeed. If it sounds like something you're interested in, or if you know someone who might be, please consider backing and sharing it. I'd love to see this get off the ground so the Protagonist's story can continue.