Announcement: Why not try our official idea generator for inspiration when making puzzles?


Caravel Forum : DROD Boards : Architecture : Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (Jmit' 2 - Russian Hold)
Page 1 of 2
2
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
EvgeniyS
Level: Goblin
Avatar
Rank Points: 19
Registered: 08-26-2009
IP: Logged
icon Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (+3)  
Here it is Jmit'2 with reconverted sounds!
And english descriptions to the hold and levels! :hooray

Now with english subtitles!

____________________________
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3pQbskQdfw

My games (Arcade,Quest,logic):
http://jonhsoft.99k.org/
http://jonhsoft.tk/

[Last edited by EvgeniyS at 10-14-2011 07:21 AM]
09-21-2011 at 06:30 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts ICQ Status This architect's holds Quote Reply
RoboBob3000
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1914
Registered: 10-23-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
Try attaching the hold now.

____________________________
http://beepsandbloops.wordpress.com/
09-21-2011 at 07:03 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
EvgeniyS
Level: Goblin
Avatar
Rank Points: 19
Registered: 08-26-2009
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
quote:
RoboBob3000 wrote:
Try attaching the hold now.

nope still not work...
16.7 mb my hold size
maybe this is reason?

____________________________
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3pQbskQdfw

My games (Arcade,Quest,logic):
http://jonhsoft.99k.org/
http://jonhsoft.tk/
09-21-2011 at 07:27 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts ICQ Status This architect's holds Quote Reply
Jatopian
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1841
Registered: 07-31-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (-1)  
Yeah, 10MB is roughly the limit. Why is it so big? You aren't using copyrighted files without permission, are you?

____________________________
DROD has some really great music.
Make your pressure plates 3.0 style!
DROD architecture idea generator
09-21-2011 at 10:07 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
EvgeniyS
Level: Goblin
Avatar
Rank Points: 19
Registered: 08-26-2009
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
quote:
Jatopian wrote:
Yeah, 10MB is roughly the limit. Why is it so big? You aren't using copyrighted files without permission, are you?

I am just used pictures, videos and sounds (voices)

____________________________
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3pQbskQdfw

My games (Arcade,Quest,logic):
http://jonhsoft.99k.org/
http://jonhsoft.tk/
09-22-2011 at 12:37 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts ICQ Status This architect's holds Quote Reply
EvgeniyS
Level: Goblin
Avatar
Rank Points: 19
Registered: 08-26-2009
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
How can i can cut this version down to 10 mb.?
i tried to delete some videos , pictures and sounds
but size still 15-16 mb. idk...

____________________________
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3pQbskQdfw

My games (Arcade,Quest,logic):
http://jonhsoft.99k.org/
http://jonhsoft.tk/
09-22-2011 at 03:44 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts ICQ Status This architect's holds Quote Reply
west.logan
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 585
Registered: 03-09-2011
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (+1)  
What file format are you using for audio clips? At full-quality 44.1kHz sampling (CD quality) you're going to have very large files.

With human voices, you should be able to record or downsample to oh, 5--10kHz or so without any significant degradation. You could also use .mp3 instead of .wav I think (but again, don't know what you're using).

I'm just guessing that your audio files are quite large, and they don't need to be. If you need a program, try Audacity (it's free) and you'll be able to do sampling conversions there, basically making your file sizes smaller without a noticeable difference in sound quality.

____________________________
-Logan
09-22-2011 at 03:50 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
EvgeniyS
Level: Goblin
Avatar
Rank Points: 19
Registered: 08-26-2009
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
quote:
west.logan wrote:
What file format are you using for audio clips? At full-quality 44.1kHz sampling (CD quality) you're going to have very large files.

With human voices, you should be able to record or downsample to oh, 5--10kHz or so without any significant degradation. You could also use .mp3 instead of .wav I think (but again, don't know what you're using).

I'm just guessing that your audio files are quite large, and they don't need to be. If you need a program, try Audacity (it's free) and you'll be able to do sampling conversions there, basically making your file sizes smaller without a noticeable difference in sound quality.


I am know what had i does mistake with audio format
but too late to fix this problem in this hold... :(

____________________________
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3pQbskQdfw

My games (Arcade,Quest,logic):
http://jonhsoft.99k.org/
http://jonhsoft.tk/
09-22-2011 at 08:19 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts ICQ Status This architect's holds Quote Reply
west.logan
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 585
Registered: 03-09-2011
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (+1)  
It shouldn't be too late. You can still downsample your audio files without re-recording them. Then re-import them into your hold and you'll be good to go. A lot of work perhaps but then the file size will be much smaller and you won't have to delete any audio.



____________________________
-Logan
09-22-2011 at 08:35 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
EvgeniyS
Level: Goblin
Avatar
Rank Points: 19
Registered: 08-26-2009
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
quote:
west.logan wrote:
It shouldn't be too late. You can still downsample your audio files without re-recording them. Then re-import them into your hold and you'll be good to go. A lot of work perhaps but then the file size will be much smaller and you won't have to delete any audio.



I can export files in drod hold back?

____________________________
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3pQbskQdfw

My games (Arcade,Quest,logic):
http://jonhsoft.99k.org/
http://jonhsoft.tk/
09-22-2011 at 08:55 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts ICQ Status This architect's holds Quote Reply
west.logan
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 585
Registered: 03-09-2011
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (+1)  
Are you saying you deleted your original files and now they are only in the DROD hold? In that case then I guess there's nothing you can really do except re-record.

____________________________
-Logan
09-22-2011 at 08:58 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
EvgeniyS
Level: Goblin
Avatar
Rank Points: 19
Registered: 08-26-2009
IP: Logged

File: times.ttf (339.8 KB)
Downloaded 4 times.
License: Public Domain
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
It is font with Russian language support.
Who want to see text normaly will need to temporrly replace
original times.ttf ("DRODTCB\Data\Fonts\times.ttf")
on this in attachment.

____________________________
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3pQbskQdfw

My games (Arcade,Quest,logic):
http://jonhsoft.99k.org/
http://jonhsoft.tk/
09-24-2011 at 07:55 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts ICQ Status This architect's holds Quote Reply
Chaco
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 3160
Registered: 10-06-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (+1)  
I checked out the hold, and I found a backtracking error in Level 1: 1N1E, where the wubba character that Beethro uses to open the door to the East doesn't respawn after that cutscene is done.

So if you try to head West or South instead of going East immediately, the wubba won't respawn and I'm pretty sure Beethro can't hit that switch by himself.

--

Also, it's possible the scrolls might explain this, but in Level 1 5N I didn't like how the mimic appeared out of nowhere once Halph entered the hot tile area. In general, most people prefer it if they can see a pressure plate or a power token and fuse that would release the mimic, which they can see at the start of the room and understand immediately how it works.

Then they know that they're supposed to go onto the hot tiles without having to guess that the architect wanted them to do it.

===

I like the idea of having Halph come rescue Beethro, and I'm playing the rest of the hold to see how it turns out. :)

____________________________
Quick links to my stuff (in case you forgot where it was):
Click here to view the secret text

09-28-2011 at 12:43 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
EvgeniyS
Level: Goblin
Avatar
Rank Points: 19
Registered: 08-26-2009
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
quote:
Chaco wrote:
I checked out the hold, and I found a backtracking error in Level 1: 1N1E, where the wubba character that Beethro uses to open the door to the East doesn't respawn after that cutscene is done.

So if you try to head West or South instead of going East immediately, the wubba won't respawn and I'm pretty sure Beethro can't hit that switch by himself.

--

Also, it's possible the scrolls might explain this, but in Level 1 5N I didn't like how the mimic appeared out of nowhere once Halph entered the hot tile area. In general, most people prefer it if they can see a pressure plate or a power token and fuse that would release the mimic, which they can see at the start of the room and understand immediately how it works.

Then they know that they're supposed to go onto the hot tiles without having to guess that the architect wanted them to do it.

===

I like the idea of having Halph come rescue Beethro, and I'm playing the rest of the hold to see how it turns out. :)


problems are fixed by now :)

____________________________
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3pQbskQdfw

My games (Arcade,Quest,logic):
http://jonhsoft.99k.org/
http://jonhsoft.tk/

[Last edited by EvgeniyS at 09-28-2011 02:37 AM]
09-28-2011 at 02:17 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts ICQ Status This architect's holds Quote Reply
Chaco
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 3160
Registered: 10-06-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (+1)  
Just a few more comments:

--

I don't think the videos you've included in levels 4 and 5 seem to be showing up correctly - they appear to me to be mostly green with some randomly-moving artifact-rectangles. It's possible they haven't been encoded or compressed correctly.

--

I'd like to ask the architect to put more checkpoints in Level 5: 2W. It's a decently long room, and the only checkpoint in it is all the way over at the west end, which takes a lot of fighting to get to. If there were a few by the North tar blob, and maybe one at the South end of the room near the entrance to the tar mother, then the room would be a lot less tedious since we could save our progress.

--

In Level 6: 1S, if you kill all the serpents, but then head North, you can't get through to the South again. Even though the character shows up again and goes to the orb, he doesn't hit the orb again.

____________________________
Quick links to my stuff (in case you forgot where it was):
Click here to view the secret text


[Last edited by Chaco at 09-29-2011 08:08 PM]
09-29-2011 at 08:07 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
EvgeniyS
Level: Goblin
Avatar
Rank Points: 19
Registered: 08-26-2009
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
quote:
Chaco wrote:
Just a few more comments:

--

I don't think the videos you've included in levels 4 and 5 seem to be showing up correctly - they appear to me to be mostly green with some randomly-moving artifact-rectangles. It's possible they haven't been encoded or compressed correctly.

--

I'd like to ask the architect to put more checkpoints in Level 5: 2W. It's a decently long room, and the only checkpoint in it is all the way over at the west end, which takes a lot of fighting to get to. If there were a few by the North tar blob, and maybe one at the South end of the room near the entrance to the tar mother, then the room would be a lot less tedious since we could save our progress.

--

In Level 6: 1S, if you kill all the serpents, but then head North, you can't get through to the South again. Even though the character shows up again and goes to the orb, he doesn't hit the orb again.

fixed again.

to the point in webfoot drod you haven't chekpoints generally)

____________________________
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3pQbskQdfw

My games (Arcade,Quest,logic):
http://jonhsoft.99k.org/
http://jonhsoft.tk/

[Last edited by EvgeniyS at 09-30-2011 05:25 AM]
09-30-2011 at 05:23 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts ICQ Status This architect's holds Quote Reply
Jatopian
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1841
Registered: 07-31-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
We have indeed improved since Webfood DROD. Please use checkpoints.

____________________________
DROD has some really great music.
Make your pressure plates 3.0 style!
DROD architecture idea generator
09-30-2011 at 08:03 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Tim
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1976
Registered: 08-07-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (+1)  
I've been looking at it because it was submitted to promotion, and there are really a number of things I don't like:

* There are multiple videos of the same thing all over the place. They act like scares you see in other not-so-good games. I feel ill after seeing them.

* At least 1 room is not reachable.

* At least one exits that finish the hold too early.

* Lots of errors caused by missing voices. (Not sure if its my special DROD version.)

* As for the English, maybe its better to remove it.


This hold is not finished yet.

____________________________
The best way to lose customers is to let little kids running loose on a forum with too many mod points.

[Last edited by Tim at 10-04-2011 02:25 PM]
10-04-2011 at 02:21 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Tim
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1976
Registered: 08-07-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
I think the architect has done some updates to solve some of my problems, but I need some more help.

Can someone with a newer version of DROD confirm that they don't have beeping when playing this hold?

And can I have some confirmation that L3 2N is solvable? I'm not good in goblin manipulations.

____________________________
The best way to lose customers is to let little kids running loose on a forum with too many mod points.
10-04-2011 at 07:27 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
larrymurk
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1853
Registered: 12-09-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
I get beeps w/ version 3.2.0.81

It'd be nice if you could make the hold "anyone edit' for testing.

10-04-2011 at 09:33 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
EvgeniyS
Level: Goblin
Avatar
Rank Points: 19
Registered: 08-26-2009
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
quote:
larrymurk wrote:
I get beeps w/ version 3.2.0.81

It'd be nice if you could make the hold "anyone edit' for testing.


"Anyone Edit" not so good idea because people will (can) cheating.
i mean - who will not be testing this hold

Anyway H.A. have 1000 reasons to not approve this hold
because i can't to do so much work.
I don't want to explain all reasons in forum because
i write(d) it in chat with H.A.

And basic reason - I am not really learn English language
and it's hard for me to communicate with people in English.

I communicating on base (memory) learnings...

____________________________
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3pQbskQdfw

My games (Arcade,Quest,logic):
http://jonhsoft.99k.org/
http://jonhsoft.tk/
10-04-2011 at 11:02 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts ICQ Status This architect's holds Quote Reply
larrymurk
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1853
Registered: 12-09-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (+1)  
Tim,

L3:2N
Click here to view the secret text

10-04-2011 at 11:37 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Tim
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1976
Registered: 08-07-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
Thanks Larry (mod up)!

As for the hold, there's not a lot of work to be done if you don't care about the beeps. They are there because you deleted the voices but not the scripts calling them. You don't have to change that, but players don't like all the beeping.

The only thing we need to remove are the copyrighted images/video. We will not publish those holds. More information: here

As for cheating this hold, well, I have a Anyone Edit version. :) I couldn't find all those bugs if I didn't. People will ask for Anyone Edit version if your hold is not fun to play. Fun is not part of the promotion rules so we can still promote your hold. :)

If you can't remove the the copyrighted stuff if that is too much work for you I can try(!) to remove them for you. Just ask.

____________________________
The best way to lose customers is to let little kids running loose on a forum with too many mod points.
10-05-2011 at 12:00 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
EvgeniyS
Level: Goblin
Avatar
Rank Points: 19
Registered: 08-26-2009
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
quote:
Tim wrote:
Thanks Larry (mod up)!

As for the hold, there's not a lot of work to be done if you don't care about the beeps. They are there because you deleted the voices but not the scripts calling them. You don't have to change that, but players don't like all the beeping.

The only thing we need to remove are the copyrighted images/video. We will not publish those holds. More information: here

As for cheating this hold, well, I have a Anyone Edit version. :) I couldn't find all those bugs if I didn't. People will ask for Anyone Edit version if your hold is not fun to play. Fun is not part of the promotion rules so we can still promote your hold. :)

If you can't remove the the copyrighted stuff if that is too much work for you I can try(!) to remove them for you. Just ask.


If it is not hard for you , help please...(

____________________________
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3pQbskQdfw

My games (Arcade,Quest,logic):
http://jonhsoft.99k.org/
http://jonhsoft.tk/
10-05-2011 at 09:48 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts ICQ Status This architect's holds Quote Reply
Tim
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1976
Registered: 08-07-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
quote:
EvgeniyS wrote:
If it is not hard for you , help please...(
I will start looking at it after the HA hold list is empty.

I can't help you first if it means that other holds have to wait. :)

____________________________
The best way to lose customers is to let little kids running loose on a forum with too many mod points.
10-06-2011 at 12:29 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Tim
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1976
Registered: 08-07-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
The hold list isn't empty yet, but I finally have the time to look at this hold.

Unfortunately there are so many images and videos added in so many rooms that I don't have the time to scan every room and remove them.

Also, I got sick watching the rooms the first time and I can't watch these rooms any more.

Sorry, I can't work on this. If you want this to published you have to change it yourself.

____________________________
The best way to lose customers is to let little kids running loose on a forum with too many mod points.
10-11-2011 at 11:01 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
EvgeniyS
Level: Goblin
Avatar
Rank Points: 19
Registered: 08-26-2009
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
quote:
Tim wrote:
Sorry, I can't work on this. If you want this to published you have to change it yourself.


It good becase:

WARNING people! Don't play this hold!
Because i am will del copyrighted stuff and bugs then
i will re-edit images and videos without copyrgihted stuff.

Wait |EIGHT FIX| or |NINE FIX| then you can play this hold.
If you are had passed many levels , stop you game and wait
fix8,9!

This idea was from "Yur-Val" and i think it is very
good decision!

____________________________
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3pQbskQdfw

My games (Arcade,Quest,logic):
http://jonhsoft.99k.org/
http://jonhsoft.tk/

[Last edited by EvgeniyS at 10-11-2011 06:51 PM]
10-11-2011 at 05:42 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts ICQ Status This architect's holds Quote Reply
Tim
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1976
Registered: 08-07-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
quote:
EvgeniyS wrote:
Some questions to the Hold Administrators:
Can i use:



Easy answer: No.

Long answer: http://forum.caravelgames.com/viewtopic.php?TopicID=13614

____________________________
The best way to lose customers is to let little kids running loose on a forum with too many mod points.
10-11-2011 at 06:12 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
EvgeniyS
Level: Goblin
Avatar
Rank Points: 19
Registered: 08-26-2009
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
quote:
Tim wrote:
quote:
EvgeniyS wrote:
Some questions to the Hold Administrators:
Can i use:



Easy answer: No.

Long answer: http://forum.caravelgames.com/viewtopic.php?TopicID=13614

But can i use my own stuff?
Without copyright distrurb!

____________________________
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B3pQbskQdfw

My games (Arcade,Quest,logic):
http://jonhsoft.99k.org/
http://jonhsoft.tk/
10-11-2011 at 06:23 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts ICQ Status This architect's holds Quote Reply
west.logan
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 585
Registered: 03-09-2011
IP: Logged
icon Re: Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (0)  
quote:

But can i use my own stuff?
Without copyright distrurb!


Other people have added their own voice acting, artwork, and even music and it has been very nice. If you create something, it's your work and you have the "copyright" and have the right to distribute it as you please.

____________________________
-Logan
10-11-2011 at 06:36 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Page 1 of 2
2
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Caravel Forum : DROD Boards : Architecture : Jmit' 2 (DROD TCB) (Jmit' 2 - Russian Hold)
Surf To:


Forum Rules:
Can I post a new topic? No
Can I reply? No
Can I read? Yes
HTML Enabled? No
UBBC Enabled? Yes
Words Filter Enable? No

Contact Us | CaravelGames.com

Powered by: tForum tForumHacks Edition b0.98.8
Originally created by Toan Huynh (Copyright © 2000)
Enhanced by the tForumHacks team and the Caravel team.