Announcement: Be excellent to each other.


Caravel Forum : DROD RPG Boards : RPG Feature Requests : For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
13th Slayer
Level: Disabled
Avatar
Rank Points: 26
Registered: 09-28-2007
IP: Logged
icon For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor (-1)  
Duh!
08-04-2008 at 04:43 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts ICQ Status This architect's holds Quote Reply
mxvladi
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 2433
Registered: 02-11-2008
IP: Logged
icon Re: For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor (0)  
DROD RPG isn't released yet.

When it's released, there will be special "Feauture requests" board for it(see here).

So, this FR board is for TCB/JtRH/KDD, but not RPG.

And please, don't write something like "Duh!" or "Subj." at topic start posts. You was asked not to do it before. Please. Thanks.

[Last edited by mxvladi at 08-04-2008 05:14 PM]
08-04-2008 at 04:46 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Beef Row
Level: Smiter
Rank Points: 471
Registered: 12-28-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor (+1)  
quote:
mxvladi wrote:
DROD RPG isn't released yet.

When it's released, there will be special "Feauture requests" board for it(see here).

So, this FR board is for TCB/JtRH/KDD, but not RPG.



Duh, Subj!

Click here to view the secret text


____________________________
"Now I will repeatedly apply the happy-face rule"
08-04-2008 at 08:36 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Tahnan
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2436
Registered: 11-14-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor (0)  
Wow, there's, like, nothing good about this post at all. One-word content, wrong place, wrong time...it's like a masterpiece of terrible. If only it had been a request for a feature in Civ!
08-05-2008 at 01:46 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Jatopian
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1841
Registered: 07-31-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor (0)  
Methinks feature requests for this game should wait until we actually know what it's like, hmmm?

____________________________
DROD has some really great music.
Make your pressure plates 3.0 style!
DROD architecture idea generator
08-05-2008 at 02:19 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Someone Else
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1164
Registered: 06-14-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor (0)  
I think that the map should be dynamically resizable in Civ. Who's with me?
08-05-2008 at 02:53 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
13th Slayer
Level: Disabled
Avatar
Rank Points: 26
Registered: 09-28-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor (0)  
There are no boards for rpg, yet. Im therefore posting here!
08-05-2008 at 02:00 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts ICQ Status This architect's holds Quote Reply
silver
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 913
Registered: 01-18-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor (0)  
that's because there's no rpg yet. you need to try it out before requesting new features for it :) I mean before you ask them to change their game, you might want to know if it needs changing.


____________________________
:yinyang

[Last edited by silver at 08-05-2008 02:43 PM]
08-05-2008 at 02:26 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
rman
Level: Smiter
Avatar
Rank Points: 371
Registered: 09-24-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor (0)  
I absolutely agree with silver.:yes

____________________________
Click here to view the secret text

Best quote ever (TSS ending spoiler):
Click here to view the secret text

08-05-2008 at 02:49 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
13th Slayer
Level: Disabled
Avatar
Rank Points: 26
Registered: 09-28-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor (-1)  
quote:
rman wrote:
I absolutely agree with silver.:yes

16x16 is way too small! It would work fine for off. Hold i guess, but fanmade ones!
08-05-2008 at 03:11 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts ICQ Status This architect's holds Quote Reply
mxvladi
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 2433
Registered: 02-11-2008
IP: Logged
icon Re: For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor (0)  
quote:
13th Slayer wrote:
quote:
rman wrote:
I absolutely agree with silver.:yes

16x16 is way too small! It would work fine for off. Hold i guess, but fanmade ones!


Umm... few things:

1. In "Ask questions about DROD RPG" topic we were said that tile sizes will be slightly larger than ones on usual DROD. So, less tiles in the room will be compensated by size of tiles.
2. If you think 16x16 is too small, then you should run request "Bigger size of rooms in RPG!" instead of this one. Still, I think 16x16 will be nice for RPG. At least screenshot Mike attached to "Ask questions about DROD RPG" topic looked nice. :)

And anyway, I pretty much agree with silver. You should play this thing before making requests.

[Last edited by mxvladi at 08-05-2008 03:34 PM]
08-05-2008 at 03:32 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
13th Slayer
Level: Disabled
Avatar
Rank Points: 26
Registered: 09-28-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor (-1)  
quote:
mxvladi wrote:
quote:
13th Slayer wrote:
quote:
rman wrote:
I absolutely agree with silver.:yes

16x16 is way too small! It would work fine for off. Hold i guess, but fanmade ones!


Umm... few things:

1. In "Ask questions about DROD RPG" topic we were said that tile sizes will be slightly larger than ones on usual DROD. So, less tiles in the room will be compensated by size of tiles.
2. If you think 16x16 is too small, then you should run request "Bigger size of rooms in RPG!" instead of this one. Still, I think 16x16 will be nice for RPG. At least screenshot Mike attached to "Ask questions about DROD RPG" topic looked nice. :)

And anyway, I pretty much agree with silver. You should play this thing before making requests.

it will be out around september, i guess. Why wait?
08-05-2008 at 03:48 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts ICQ Status This architect's holds Quote Reply
hyperme
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 546
Registered: 06-23-2006
IP: Logged
icon Re: For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor (+1)  
quote:
13th Slayer wrote:
16x16 is way too small! It would work fine for off. Hold i guess, but fanmade ones!


DROD RPG is a nearly totally different gameplay idea from "normal" DROD. Look up Tower of the Sorcerer on Google and play it. DROD RPG is like this. Also, if your room/level/hold needs more space, in this game you just add another room to increase space. DROD holds have as many rooms as your can fit on your computer's memory. Oh, and coding the scaling for graphics for different sized rooms would take a while, time can could be used for other, more constructive stuff.

____________________________
[Insert witty comment here]
Qzvlkx?
08-05-2008 at 04:44 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Tahnan
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 2436
Registered: 11-14-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor (+2)  
OK, here's the thing. Again.

quote:
13th Slayer wrote:
16x16 is way too small! It would work fine for off. Hold i guess, but fanmade ones!


How do you know? You've never played the game; how can you possibly know that 16x16 is way too small?

quote:
13th Slayer wrote:
it will be out around september, i guess. Why wait?


Because you don't know. Feature requests are what you make when you've played a game and think, "There's something this needs." I mean, imagine ordering something at a restaurant, and then a few minutes later, before the dish comes out, saying "I think it has too much oregano. Can you take some out and replace it with basil?" Perhaps you should (a) wait to taste the dish and (b) trust the chef to know what he's doing.
08-05-2008 at 11:49 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Someone Else
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1164
Registered: 06-14-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor (+1)  
Besides, if you've played TOTS, you'd know that it works just fine.
08-06-2008 at 05:30 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
13th Slayer
Level: Disabled
Avatar
Rank Points: 26
Registered: 09-28-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor (0)  
quote:
Someone Else wrote:
Besides, if you've played TOTS, you'd know that it works just fine.

played it, if you mean the tower of sorcerer
08-07-2008 at 05:09 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts ICQ Status This architect's holds Quote Reply
Someone Else
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1164
Registered: 06-14-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor (0)  
Yes I did, and didn't you see how well it worked?
08-07-2008 at 07:28 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
13th Slayer
Level: Disabled
Avatar
Rank Points: 26
Registered: 09-28-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor (-1)  
quote:
Someone Else wrote:
Yes I did, and didn't you see how well it worked?

didnt you see that the name of a game is "DROD RPG", not "TOTS 2"?
08-12-2008 at 08:43 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts ICQ Status This architect's holds Quote Reply
Someone Else
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1164
Registered: 06-14-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor (0)  
While it may not be a copy or a sequel, it has similar gameplay (or so we have been told). Being the only example of that type of gameplay (that I know about), I used it as an example.

[Last edited by Someone Else at 08-13-2008 12:35 AM]
08-13-2008 at 12:35 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
rman
Level: Smiter
Avatar
Rank Points: 371
Registered: 09-24-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor (0)  
TOTS and DROD RPG are all RPGs... ;)

____________________________
Click here to view the secret text

Best quote ever (TSS ending spoiler):
Click here to view the secret text

08-13-2008 at 07:33 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Caravel Forum : DROD RPG Boards : RPG Feature Requests : For DROD RPG - option to set room size in editor
Surf To:


Forum Rules:
Can I post a new topic? No
Can I reply? No
Can I read? Yes
HTML Enabled? No
UBBC Enabled? Yes
Words Filter Enable? No

Contact Us | CaravelGames.com

Powered by: tForum tForumHacks Edition b0.98.8
Originally created by Toan Huynh (Copyright © 2000)
Enhanced by the tForumHacks team and the Caravel team.