Announcement: Be excellent to each other.

Caravel Forum : Caravel Boards : Development : My DROD project
Page 1 of 3
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
MarvinTheRobot
Level: Delver
Rank Points: 44
IP: Logged

File: screenshot.jpg (195.3 KB)
Downloaded 370 times.
License: Other
icon My DROD project (+3)  
Hi everyone,

i'm a college student and because i love DROD and also because i have an awful lot of spare time i set myself on making a new drod-inspired game. :D

i wont say too much about it because i dont to raise any expectations about it. but because i will probably ask alot of questions about the code ( :blush ), i can tell you that i will have to change alot of stuff to meet the requirements of my game-design. included is also a screenshot of my first effect, if you pay close attention you may be able to guess what i am trying to do... O:-

i started working on this a week ago, took me 2 days to compile the Caravel code ;), then another couple to roughly figure out the structure of the app. the CEffect class and its usage was my first step (though i had to make the swordsman invincible to test my first effect). i also added a couple of CueEvents and i am now working on the CSwordsman and CMonster classes.

so, here it is, my first question! hooray!
what i want is to call an update routine i wrote for the swordsman class (i added various properties to the swordsman that can change during the game), and it should be called, say, when a monster dies. now, im not sure if im missing some vital piece of information about object-oriented programming, but when i try to call