Announcement: Be excellent to each other.

Caravel Forum : Caravel Boards : General : Your Old Experiences, Feelings and Thoughts When You Were Fresh-Faced?
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
Lord Moontram
Level: Goblin
Rank Points: 26
IP: Logged
icon Your Old Experiences, Feelings and Thoughts When You Were Fresh-Faced? (+5)  
This forum has been around for a long time, so I know most every topic I think of will have been covered, but... I'm really new to this series. As I said in my other thread, I love it. However when I first saw the games (I use the GOG store) I was initially put off. I just couldn't really 'get to grips' with the screenshots or what was being offered (or so I thought), even as a fan of older games in general.

I think the series was basically in my Wishlist for three years, haha. Something (alcohol? :P) made me take the plunge recently and I bought them all at once there on GOG, at full price, to boot. Now I've played them and, whilst right now I'm pretty damn poor as a player (...seriously. Think even simple screens), I just can't get enough. And I totally think the graphics suit the game(s). Sometimes you need to experience something direct to realise, without just looking at a static image, or even watching a video. The graphics are simple and uncluttered and are exactly what's needed, whilst still having enough detail.

Anyway, long post short (too late), I suppose many of you are 'veteran' players of the series. Can any of you remember when you were first like me, and completely new to the series? Which was your first? Can any of you remember what your first thoughts were on various aspects? Good, bad, indifferent, etc. Were you already used to games like this (I note Tower of the Sorcerer, but haven't played it)?

I must admit since I bought the series I've dipped into all of them to a degree, which isn't so useful in regards to being focused. I was just so excited I got into a muddle, heh.