Announcement: Be excellent to each other.


Caravel Forum : Caravel Boards : Development : Complex image overlay loops
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
averagemoe
Level: Master Delver
Avatar
Rank Points: 104
Registered: 03-22-2012
IP: Logged
icon Complex image overlay loops (0)  
I want to create a sort of looping animation out of image overlays, but the help files don't say how to make the loop feature apply to multiple commands. Was that even meant to be possible?

____________________________
Sometimes when I'm in the editor, I like to pretend I'm an architect bossing around a team of builders.
02-28-2018 at 11:43 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
averagemoe
Level: Master Delver
Avatar
Rank Points: 104
Registered: 03-22-2012
IP: Logged
icon Re: Complex image overlay loops (0)  
Okay, so I actually found some proof that this is indeed possible. TSS contains at least two examples of an image overlay looping multiple commands. First in Quick Way 4N2W, with the extra large roaches resetting to the left side of the screen after exiting to the right, and second in The Grand Library 1N, where the light from the ceiling fades in and out slightly.

But I still don't know how to create a loop with more than one command. How do I tell the loop command to loop a specific set of commands in sequence, instead of just the previous single command?

____________________________
Sometimes when I'm in the editor, I like to pretend I'm an architect bossing around a team of builders.
03-08-2018 at 04:04 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Lucky Luc
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1081
Registered: 08-19-2012
IP: Logged
icon Re: Complex image overlay loops (0)  
Can't you just chain all the commands you need in a single Image overlay script line and end it with Loop -1? Something like "<command1> <command2> ... <commandN> Loop -1"? Right now I can't think of a case where you'd need to split your animation into multiple script lines.

EDIT: Also, I suppose this sort of question would probably have better chances of being answered in the Architecture board, though I'm not entirely sure.

[Last edited by Lucky Luc at 03-08-2018 12:16 PM]
03-08-2018 at 12:15 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
averagemoe
Level: Master Delver
Avatar
Rank Points: 104
Registered: 03-22-2012
IP: Logged
icon Re: Complex image overlay loops (0)  
When I end a series of commands with loop -1, it only loops the last command in that series.

____________________________
Sometimes when I'm in the editor, I like to pretend I'm an architect bossing around a team of builders.
03-08-2018 at 03:51 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Jacob
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 3511
Registered: 10-01-2004
IP: Logged
icon Re: Complex image overlay loops (0)  
Maybe I am missing something but can't you just loop:
Label X
A
B
C
Goto X
?

____________________________
New to DROD? You may want to read this.
My Holds and Levels:
Click here to view the secret text

03-08-2018 at 08:05 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
averagemoe
Level: Master Delver
Avatar
Rank Points: 104
Registered: 03-22-2012
IP: Logged
icon Re: Complex image overlay loops (0)  
I'm doing image overlays. Those are a completely different language.

____________________________
Sometimes when I'm in the editor, I like to pretend I'm an architect bossing around a team of builders.
03-08-2018 at 10:42 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Lucky Luc
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1081
Registered: 08-19-2012
IP: Logged

File: Overlay Test.hold (1.3 KB)
Downloaded 3 times.
License: Public Domain
icon Re: Complex image overlay loops (+1)  
quote:
averagemoe wrote:
When I end a series of commands with loop -1, it only loops the last command in that series.


Works perfectly fine for me, see attached hold. Maybe you could attach your example so it's easier to track down the problem?
03-09-2018 at 09:20 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
averagemoe
Level: Master Delver
Avatar
Rank Points: 104
Registered: 03-22-2012
IP: Logged
icon Re: Complex image overlay loops (0)  
Alright I'll try it again, eventually. I realized I need to make some changes to the actual image involved, for non script-related reasons.

____________________________
Sometimes when I'm in the editor, I like to pretend I'm an architect bossing around a team of builders.
03-09-2018 at 04:50 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Caravel Forum : Caravel Boards : Development : Complex image overlay loops
Surf To:


Forum Rules:
Can I post a new topic? No
Can I reply? No
Can I read? Yes
HTML Enabled? No
UBBC Enabled? Yes
Words Filter Enable? No

Contact Us | CaravelGames.com

Powered by: tForum tForumHacks Edition b0.98.8
Originally created by Toan Huynh (Copyright © 2000)
Enhanced by the tForumHacks team and the Caravel team.