Announcement: Why not try our official idea generator for inspiration when making puzzles?

Caravel Forum : DROD Boards : Architecture : Swarm of monsters
Page 1 of 2
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
Romain673
Level: Goblin
Rank Points: 17
IP: Logged

File: Swarm of monsters.hold (39.7 KB)
Downloaded 65 times.
License: Public Domain
icon Swarm of monsters (+2)  
Hello world,
I would like some testing for my actual hold.

I planned to do a hole extrelely hard where sometimes some specific move are needed. But since I'm not good at the game, i don't know if they are really difficult or not.

The level are not some puzzle game, it's a level where i give you too much ennemies, and some tools for manage them. After, i let you completely free to what you want to do with them.
But there is an efficient amount of ennemies for that you need to test the tools, and decide of what tools you take, and what tools you doesn't take.
Or at least, it's the goal of the hole.

I would like some review and some specific point :
- for difficulty : does a hard level can be fun ?
- is the lobby a good idea ?
- is the tricky level on the mass of 'normal' level nice ? Or it's just not fun to think about a problem and just see that it wasn't at all what you needed to do ?
Click here to view the secret text

- does shortcuts for changing the entrance of a level is a good idea ?Or it just add some element to the level who aren't needed ?
- Again on Snow 2E, does the docorative ennemies on the middle are fine ?
- And for finish, I have some problem with the level 4 : crabs or tar : i don't arrive to find a way to build a level with them : stalling (=find a situation where you are free to do want you want without penality (=kill somme ennemies)) is too simple.
I counter that by the 'Fluff vent' on Snow level, and by giant level on Queen level (and the IA of Roaches are done for not let the player stall when they are a lot).
So if you have any ideas for them, i will take them :P