Announcement: Be excellent to each other.

Caravel Forum : Caravel Boards : General : Loudness of sound effects
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
mtomato
Level: Goblin
Rank Points: 17
IP: Logged
icon Loudness of sound effects (0)  
Hey all,

I'm fairly new to this game series and been playing the games obsessively past few weeks.

Now that I have finished The City Beneath, I would like start playing The Second Sky, but there's one thing that really bothers me.

By default the sound effects are just way too loud, so I lower them in the settings, but it affects some of Beethro's voice too (when you clear a room or bump into obstacles), which I don't think happened in the previous games, since I never noticed it until now.

When the loudness of other sound effects is at the level I'm ok with, Beethro's wall bumping or his victory laugh is barely audible, and the contrast with the normal dialogue feels really weird.

Is there something that can be done about this?
06-01-2016 at 01:11 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Xindaris
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 1531
icon Re: Loudness of sound effects (0)  
Well, the most recent version of the DROD engine, which comes with The Second Sky*, has separate sliders for voices and sound effects. If you bought your games direct from here (Caravel Games), you can even get the earlier games that you own as holds playable inside of that newer engine.

*-Depending on where you buy it from you may need to install and then patch the latest version? I'm not sure. I think the separate sliders may have even been in there in the original 5.0 engine.

Here are some links to Things!
Click here to view the secret text

[Last edited by Xindaris at 06-01-2016 02:06 AM]
06-01-2016 at 02:04 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
mtomato