Announcement: Be excellent to each other.

Caravel Forum : Other Boards : Anything : Don't Over-Crack Your Neck
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
12th Archivist
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 789
IP: Logged
icon Don't Over-Crack Your Neck (0)  
Have you ever cracked your neck? You know, when you twist your neck to the left then to the right and you get that cracking or popping sound?

Don't over-do that. I did just a few minutes ago. What I believe it does (I'm no doctor) is it pulls your neck muscle somewhat, making it very difficult to move your neck, and unfortunately, most of your body. Since I'm no doctor, I may also possibly sprained my neck. It's worse than before, but I can get over it.

Worse case scenario, I can't talk about it. The mental image of it is far too disturbing, and makes me run to the toilet, ready to remove last nights contents.

It's been about 30 minutes, and although my neck still hurts bad, I can move and rotate it just a tiny bit. Which scenario do you think I should be placed in? No matter what the worst case one is, I'll be headed off to the hospital.

Check out the DROD Wikia project here!

[Last edited by 12th Archivist at 04-12-2009 02:27 PM]
04-12-2009 at 02:26 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts This architect's holds Quote Reply
Jacob
Rank Points: 3746
icon Re: Don't Over-Crack Your Neck (0)  
I have no idea what you're alluding to.

You've probably pulled a muscle in your neck (there is no one specific "neck muscle") - which has caused the pain.

I can't think what else you're worried has happened - you've not injured your own spine, neck (cervical) vertebrae or the vessels in your neck as (a) that's very unlikely, if not impossible and (b) you had the ability to go to a computer after doing it and type in what happened and (c) you don't describe any other symptoms other than neck pain.

So I'm not too sure what you're worried about, but you're almost certainly fine.