Announcement: Be excellent to each other.


Caravel Forum : DROD RPG Boards : RPG Bugs : "Build remove f-layer item" not working
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
Nuntar
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 3517
Registered: 02-20-2007
IP: Logged

File: bugreport.drh (1.4 KB)
Downloaded 6 times.
License: Public Domain
icon "Build remove f-layer item" not working (+1)  
Hold attached.

____________________________
50th Skywatcher

[Last edited by Nuntar at 12-28-2008 02:03 PM]
12-27-2008 at 03:59 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Nuntar
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 3517
Registered: 02-20-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Build remove f-layer item" not working (0)  
After some more experimenting:

"Build Remove item" removes all items in the third tab except scrolls, orbs, tokens, lights, obstacles and tarstuff. There is no way to remove any of these.

"Build Remove f-layer item", so far as I can work out, does nothing at all. There is no way to remove any item from the second tab (what I assumed "Remove f-layer item" was supposed to do, and something it really needs to be possible to do).

____________________________
50th Skywatcher
12-28-2008 at 02:05 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Nuntar
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 3517
Registered: 02-20-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Build remove f-layer item" not working (0)  
Also:

  If ... 
        Wait for item Accessory Slot,4,2,4,2
     Build Lucky Greckle,7,3,7,3
  If End 

I place an NPC with this script in an empty room, and place an accessory slot. The Lucky Greckle does not appear. This would seem to be a bug with the "Wait for item Accessory Slot" condition, since "Wait for item Floor" works fine. [reported elsewhere and fixed in 1.2.3 -- mrimer]

Is this room cursed or something? That's three bugs I've found now in trying to build one fracking room....

____________________________
50th Skywatcher

[Last edited by mrimer at 01-14-2016 05:16 PM]
12-28-2008 at 02:11 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Kwakstur
Level: Smiter
Avatar
Rank Points: 384
Registered: 05-05-2006
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Build remove f-layer item" not working (+1)  
[Decides to actually download the bug hold]

You forgot to put a sword in there.

But I see what you mean. It seems like Remove f-layer item really does nothing at all. And there is no way to remove that arrow, meaning it will be left behind when the platform falls. I would work around this by not putting platforms under arrows, but this sure is something worth implementing.

I'm not sure what Remove f-layer item is supposed to do, but whatever it is, it isn't doing it.


To the other bug: I can reproduce this too. And I can confirm it has nothing to do with turn 0 (you can place an item instead of a slot, and it still won't run when you pick up the item).
Speech diagnostics (telling the NPC to speak when it performs certain actions) confirm that Wait for item Accessory slot is the problem; this condition somehow never results to true.

____________________________
Also known as ExpHP everywhere else.
12-28-2008 at 06:54 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Visit Homepage Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Nuntar
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 3517
Registered: 02-20-2007
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Build remove f-layer item" not working (0)  
Another related bug.

"Build obstacle" does nothing at all. I know it would be tricky to get it to work, in view of the number of different obstacle types, but at least the ability to build some obstacle would be better than nothing at all.

And the lack of ability to remove an obstacle has really ruined one of my plans for my January contest entry :(

____________________________
50th Skywatcher
02-13-2009 at 12:22 AM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
mrimer
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 4352
Registered: 02-04-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Build remove f-layer item" not working (0)  
Thanks for reporting these issues.
quote:
Nuntar wrote:
"Build Remove f-layer item", so far as I can work out, does nothing at all. There is no way to remove any item from the second tab (what I assumed "Remove f-layer item" was supposed to do, and something it really needs to be possible to do).
Fixed in rev 132.

Removing items was also erroneously replacing pit with floor at the same time.

____________________________
Gandalf? Yes... That's what they used to call me.
Gandalf the Grey. That was my name.
I am Gandalf the White.
And I come back to you now at the turn of the tide.
01-18-2016 at 03:00 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
mrimer
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 4352
Registered: 02-04-2003
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Build remove f-layer item" not working (0)  
quote:
Nuntar wrote:
"Build Remove item" removes all items in the third tab except scrolls, orbs, tokens, lights, obstacles and tarstuff. There is no way to remove any of these.
Fixed for everything but obstacles in rev 133.

Sorry, I'm not going to attempt adding support for obstacle building and removal yet. Someone else could take this on if they'd like.

____________________________
Gandalf? Yes... That's what they used to call me.
Gandalf the Grey. That was my name.
I am Gandalf the White.
And I come back to you now at the turn of the tide.
01-18-2016 at 03:31 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
Someone Else
Level: Smitemaster
Avatar
Rank Points: 1125
Registered: 06-14-2005
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Build remove f-layer item" not working (+1)  
Whoa! If you're not touching it, I don't think I'm capable. Sorry.
01-18-2016 at 04:03 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Send Email to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
kieranmillar
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 1514
Registered: 07-11-2014
IP: Logged
icon Re: "Build remove f-layer item" not working (+2)  
Can confirm that in 1.2.3.133, remove f-layer item removes force arrows and ortho-squares, while remove item removes everything in the third tab except for obstacles :thumbsup
01-18-2016 at 10:42 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts High Scores This architect's holds Quote Reply
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Caravel Forum : DROD RPG Boards : RPG Bugs : "Build remove f-layer item" not working
Surf To:


Forum Rules:
Can I post a new topic? No
Can I reply? No
Can I read? Yes
HTML Enabled? No
UBBC Enabled? Yes
Words Filter Enable? No

Contact Us | CaravelGames.com

Powered by: tForum tForumHacks Edition b0.98.8
Originally created by Toan Huynh (Copyright © 2000)
Enhanced by the tForumHacks team and the Caravel team.