Announcement: Be excellent to each other.

Caravel Forum : DROD Boards : Bugs : DROD is confused
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
joker5
Level: Smitemaster
Rank Points: 607
IP: Logged
icon DROD is confused (0)  
Ack! I lost all my player data (and ability to play DROD) due to a bug!

When I started DROD, all was fine. Then, when I started playing The_Red_Hawk's Deep Hold I-XX w/warps, it crashed. When I started again most of the message boxes were blank or contained squares, when I pressed any button on the menu it crashed, and even uninstalling and reinstalling didn't work! I can't even get past the "please enter player name" screen! How do I fix this up? I'm DROD-dependant, and my DROD is confused about its own existance!

~joker5

www.badgerbadgerbadger.com

"Two words: Beam Waffle!" -me
01-16-2004 at 09:11 PM
View Profile Send Private Message to User Show all user's posts Quote Reply
Oneiromancer
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Rank Points: 2936
icon Re: DROD is confused (0)  
This sounds like the infamous "text loss" bug. It was fixed in one of the patches, which also included a recovery system. When you started up again, it should have reverted back to a previous state. However, you need to have applied the patch to do so. If you have applied the patch, then this is very bad. If you haven't applied the patch, then I am really sorry that it happened, but announcements were made. :(

To apply the patch if you haven't done so, find the thread in the News forum that announced it and download the new drod.exe file, which should replace the old one. I just always rename the old ones in case I need to revert for whatever reason. I don't think your data can be recovered though. :~(

Game on,

"He who is certain he knows the ending of things when he is only beginning them is either extremely wise or extremely foolish; no matter which is true, he is certainly an unhappy man, for he has put a knife in the heart of wonder." -- Tad Williams
01-16-2004 at 09:28 PM