Announcement: Be excellent to each other.

Caravel Forum : Caravel Boards : The Illumination : The Temptation of Saint Erik (Our News for October.)
Page 1 of 2
New Topic New Poll Post Reply
Poster Message
ErikH2000
Level: Legendary Smitemaster
Rank Points: 2794
IP: Logged
icon The Temptation of Saint Erik (+1)  
I went to work for a new company. I used to work as a contractor for Webfoot Technologies, whose history is entwined with DROD's. A lot of you guys probably think that DROD is my main gig, but it doesn't actually pay all the bills. Maybe about one-fourth of the bills--we're slowly getting there. So my day job used to be coding stuff for Webfoot, then I switched over to this new day job, and it's been good. Maybe too good.

They doubled my paycheck from what I made before, and I'm now one of the better-paid software engineers in Seattle (according to some salary survey I read). They gave me back the near-mythical 40-hour workweek. Heck, people even chide me to go home if I stick around the office past six. I got health/dental/vision/life, 401k matching, stock options, floating holidays, paid vacation, flextime, transpo reimbursement. These are things you don't take for granted after three years of fending for yourself as a mercenary contractor. I'm set up on cool new projects that are amazingly free of stress. They issued me a brand new laptop and superdeluxe leather carrying case. And a plastic water bottle with the company logo printed on the side. Nice, eh?